We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really--don't miss the Waltons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waltons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waltons
Ranked #2 of 13 Dorking B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really--don't miss the Waltons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Highly recommend this B&B. Quiet setting (sheep on the green!) but just steps from the adorable town center. Maggie and Richard are the loveliest humans, and their pets are lovely as well. Great memories and fond hopes for returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
19
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at The Waltons during a trip to England a couple of years back. I can't believe I'm just now writing this - but I have so many fond memories of the place (and remember it so often) that I really wanted to share them.

Maggie & Richard were amazing hosts. Maggie's breakfasts are incredible, and her garden is so cute. Plus, the b & b is perfectly located for walks into the center of Dorking for shopping, coffee, an Indian dinner, or an evening at one of the small, friendly pubs. It's also perfectly situated for long walks across gorgeous green fields with incredible views of the town below and to a nearby country pub that was GREAT (good food, and people arrived on horseback while I was there - it was really cool!).

I recommended The Waltons to my best friend and her boyfriend, and they visited a year or so later – and loved it as much as I did. Again, this b&b and the folks who run it are a delight and made my vacation one of my fondest travel memories.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSusanSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Valentine's day, and liked it so much that we decided to stay a second night. The house is beautiful, on a lovely circular street on a hill, which has a sort of field in the middle of it with sheep in it, but is also extremely conveniently located about 4 mins from the centre of Dorking. Our room was lovely and our hosts were extremely welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed with Maggie and her family of humans and hounds whilst we were in the process of emigrating from Dorking to New Zealand. They all made us feel so welcome, at quite an emotionally draining time, the service was exemplary, a true pearl amongst B&B's and if you travel from overseas to the UK, the Waltons have a British home to be almightily envious of. The rooms are cosy, clean and splendidly serviced, breakfast delightful and it was lovely having the hounds around. We only wish that we will be on enough return trips to stay often.
Thank you Maggie, thank you so much. Paul, Cath and Laura. Oooh...and the cake is devine!

Room Tip: Book early and don't forget to book breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've stayed at The Waltons on four occasions now and have always received the same warm welcome. The house is beautiful, full of lovely antique furniture and interesting pictures. Breakfast (an extraordinary variety of good food on offer) is served in the dining room with the fire lit in the hearth. The rooms are airy and comfortable, again with lovely antique furnitue, but also with all mod cons. The room I just stayed in had a beautiful view across the town to the Surrey hills (Ranmore). The house is in a unique position: there is a field of sheep directly in front of it giving the impression of a quiet rural aspect, but in fact it's only two minutes' walk from the town centre. Rooms are well stocked with leaflets and books on the surrounding area. The beautiful countryside and nearby villages are ideal for hiking or touring and yet there are regular train services to London which is only 45 minutes away.

Room Tip: The double room at the front of the house has a beautiful view over the town to the Surrey hills. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed one night when away with business; picked the B&B from tripadvisor and was very happy I did.

Was able to use the microwave and cutlery on the evening which is always a bonus. Room was lovely with lots of personal touches. Bathroom modern with everything you'd need.

Breakfast again excelled as the quality of incredients and the warm reception really makes you feel comfortable.

Now I need another reason to come to Dorking....apparently some nice hills around the place!

Room Tip: Warm welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awaygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

A very comfortable and hospitable place to stay. Large room, very quiet, lovely location and an excellent breakfast.What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
0.3 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
2.9 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#5 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltons

Property: The Waltons
Address: 5 Rose Hill, Dorking RH4 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltons is a listed house in a conservation area. Dorking is situated in the midst of the Surrey Hills with easy access to London and both its airports. The coastal towns of Brighton and Worthing are a short journey, as are plentiful attractions including many National Trust properties.You are sure to find a warm welcome at The Waltons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waltons Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing