We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are friendly, the rooms clean & cumfortable, the service 1st class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
capalaba
2 reviews
“The staff are friendly, the rooms clean & cumfortable, the service 1st class”
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The staff are friendly, the rooms clean & cumfortable, the service 1st class. we had an excellent buffet breakfast to set us on the road. A very minor set back was the parking but the hotel seems to have done the best possible with the space available. I was a bit upset that I couldnot get a wireless connection for my lap top but a believe that the hotel are making arrangements to rectify this. I might add at this point that during our holiday we stayed at 10 or more hotels and none of them had internet connection either.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapalabaJJtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your kind feedback. Shortly after your stay we installed new wireless connections, so that aspect of your stay will in future also be much better. Kind regards,
Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    156
    92
    49
    28
See reviews for
135
184
17
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redhill
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We booked Burford Bridge for our Wedding Day, and our choice of venue exceeded all expectations.

A special mention to Nick, the chef, for all his efforts to produce a truly amazing array of vegan dishes on the day. So many of our guests commented on how good the food was, (non vegans too. who made up the majority!)

The food was very filling (as vegan food usually is), so we were very pleased to rescue the left overs for our freezer! This being an example of both flexibility and willingness to accommodate, as far as possible, all our special requests.

Use of the Tithe Barn really did make it a special occasion, coupled with the Garden room for the reception. The staff were also commendable, and well appreciated by our guests and ourselves alike.

A special mention for the manager Tony for his professionalism, and for providing 'extra service' that was second to none at all times, and especially on the day.

The venue was excellent in every way. Loved the heated outdoor swimming pool too!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersunshine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
It was my pleasure to host your wedding day and we really appreciate the positive feedback you have given us.
All best wishes,

Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

When I say we stayed here in June, that's actually an exaggeration, we never actually got our room so technically, we didn't stay.

We arrived at 2.30 pm to be told the room wasn't ready as it was still being cleaned. They didn't know when it would be ready...this was a problem...we were due at a wedding a 4 pm in the nearby Cherkley Court (fab place - fantastic wedding) and needed to change and spruce up before hand. Managed to borrow another guest's room to get ready and went off to said wedding. On return at nearly 2 am were told that there was no room...they had given our room to someone else...and numerous other guests were in the same predicament. The bride and groom who were also staying here were relieved that they had checked into their room earlier in the day so went off to bed...only to find another couple asleep in their room. They never got a room - they had to get a taxi home. The hotel staff sent other 'guests' off in taxis to another hotel saying that they had provided rooms for all there - but on arrival no one at the alternative hotel knew anything about it. The staff were singularly unhelpful at the Burford Bridge. They even refused to refund money that had been paid for rooms that were not available because other people were using them. A number of people ended up having to drive home in the early hours of the morning. Think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I understand that you were disappointed with the shortcomings that were received on the day. All shortcomings were dealt with directly with the bride & groom, who held their event at Cherckley Court and were staying with us. The bride & groom received a trip to a Mercure hotel in Paris to show them a genuine apology. A clear action plan was set up after the event to ensure this could not reoccur.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

My wife had business in nearby Walton Oaks and her company booked us into the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel Boxhill. We were in Room 210, up a couple of flights of stairs. The room was spacious and with a large bathroom. It was clean and comfortable.

The only drawback to the hotel is it's lack of an elevator. Luckily for my wife she had a male co-worker checking in with her who carried her large suitcase to her room. To their credit, the hotel staff did offer to have someone bring it up to the room.

The hotel staff was wonderful and were eager to help out. I only ate one meal there (breakfast) and the service was excellent. I only eat a meager breakfast and on this morning I only had toast and coffee so I can't comment on the quality of breakfast buffet, though it looked like there was quite a variety of foods.

My wife and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — It was a quaint, comfortable place to stay.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ricbre_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Thanks for your kind review. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes. Lancs, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We had a Golden Wedding lunch here with 30 + guests and we stayed overnight. The staff were brilliant in helping to arrange the details - menu, seating, drinks, flowers, cake etc.

The hotel is beautifully situated with good walking available and is easily accessible. Buses stop outside and the railway station is a ten minute walk away.

The food - lunch, bar snacks and breakfast - was very good, bedrooms were well equipped and comfortable. Double room bed and breakfast was £69 per night on special offer advertised in the national press.

All our guests complimented us on our choice of venue.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrinkled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. I am happy to see that the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel offered you what you were looking for.
All best wishes,

Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I stayed a this hotel midweek as a business traveller.

I was allocated room 26, left at the top of the stairs, the room was small, with very creaky floor boards.

i was suprised how small the room was considering the cost was over £150 per night.

Break fast was an dissapointing buffet service, at over £15 i was expecting a freshly cooked breakfast rathe than a buffet.
The pastry crossoint with chocolate was nice. :-)

  • Liked — clean,
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank homesweethomeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found us overpriced. With regards to breakfast I would recommend that you order any dishes from our breakfast menu. These are all cooked to order from our kitchen. Items include really nice Eggs Benedict or Smoked Haddock with poached eggs.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We have known and used this hotel for years and it used to be of very high standard. I was brought up in Dorking and it was probably the smartest of the hotels at that time.

In more recent years, we had an absolutely dreadful lunch with 6 other people about 4 years ago. The food was just about passable, but the service was totally appalling! It was especially embarassing as we had recommended it. We received an apology from the manager on this occasion and the wine was provided free.

We have eaten there on several occasions since and service was much better, if a bit impersonal.

In 2005 we stayed with a group in the garden rooms and had a lovely stay. The rooms at the back are restful. The weather was great and the terrace at the rear of the hotel was a lovely place for lunch.

We had been arranging a function and needing a central place the Burford Bridge was high on our list. We were aware that Mecure had taken over the hotel from MacDonald, but thought it would make little difference - in fact we hoped it might be an improvement to the catering!

We arrived mid morning to meet the functions manager. It was good to see the waitress who had been working there for years was still there. However, at this point things started to unravel.

We had travelled a long distance and I visited their downstairs "Ladies Powder Room". The state of this was positively disgusting. Of the 4 loos only 1 was clean enough to use and that had loo paper stuck all over the floor. The floors were wet, there was excrement all over one loo, menstrual blood all over another and the seat detached in another. I went straight to reception and after the group of staff had finished their conversation told them about the mess. Admittedly a manager went in there pretty swiftly to look and hopefully it was rectified, but no apology or thanks were forthcoming. In a good hotel this should have been picked up - it was not as though it was last thing at night after a boozy party. The hotel was not busy, so no excuses for this.

The function manager arrived to show us the available rooms, but unfortunately she not only was disorganised, but was actually outright rude when my husband queried the price of something!! My husband has organised conferences and events for many years and has dealt with literally hundreds of hotels and centres and has never had a staff attitude like this woman showed!

We were planning to have lunch at the Burford Bridge, but decided not to stay. In fact after the state of the loo my stomach was turned for some time!

What a shame, this hotel is in a great position and in the past has been of good quality. Hopefully they will get themselves back up to scratch again. We have taken our business elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurfordBridge, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find the service up to your expectations. We normally pride ourselves in the care and eye for detail that we provide and I am sorry to see that this was not provided to you. I would be very happy to personally host any event you may have to show you that we take your customer feedback very seriously and that we can do much better. Please feel free to contact me at any time.

Tony Tijhuis
Hotel Manager
01306 884561
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
540 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
982 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Property: Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing