We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel at the foot of the now famous (Olympics road race) Box Hill has a certain olde world charm, creaky floorboards, mazey corridors.

It is a disappointing place to stay on business. Stayed twice recently both times the beds were over soft, the second time the room was ridiculously small. So small that I was unable to sit at the desk provided as the chair could not come out far enough before hitting the bed. The room (209 for those wishing to avoid) also suffered from 24hr running water from a presumably nearby pipe, it was like living in a running toilet cistern.

The breakfast was nice only problem is they seem to alternate randomly between buffet and table service which meant missing out on my eggs because I hadn't enough time before my taxi arrived.

Overall I prefer other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for you recent comments regarding your business stay at Burford Bridge I am disappointed that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion and would urge you to contact our reservations department the next time you have a requirement to ensure that you have a far more pleasant stay with us here at the Burford Bridge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 602 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We planned a weekend here including a birthday lunch for 18. The lunch was wonderful and the staff excellent. However the rest of the stay was a catalogue of problems of service. The hotel was cold and so busy it was difficult to locate staff for service.
At 2.30 the following morning five of our party woke with severe food poisoning like symptoms we had all had salmon at the lunch. I have been in contact with the hotel who have not really addressed our problems. We were offered three lunches but after that awful experience we would be reluctant to eat there any time again soon. We were quite unwell for some days.
This must be the only hotel group whose staff will not tell you the address of head office and I cannot find it on the internet.
The weekend cost over £900 and we just feel so let down and disappointed

Room Tip: Ensure you never get a room at the front of the hotel as the noise from the road is very intrusive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for your feed back with regards to your recent stay here at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel . It was a pleasure to read that you felt that the lunch was wonderful and the staff excellent . I was hoverer naturally concerned to read that you experienced discomfort during the early hours of the morning due to a stomach upset. Please be assured that all precautions are taken within our kitchens by our experienced brigade of chefs to ensure illness is not caused through the offering of our food. We are however in contact with the organiser of this event and can assure you that the comments we receive from the our guests after attending functions is normally of a very high standard .
Kind Regards
Paul Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding at the hotel on one of the hottest days this summer. The staff were all friendly and helpful including the waiting staff during the meal.
The bedroom s were very tired and the windows needed a good clean, however the sound proofing was good.
Overall the food was lovely although the canapés were warm and soft(not great for salmon and chicken liver parfaits).
A bit off putting that the amount of public using the swimming pool were loud.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at Burford Bridge. Please be assured that your points have been taken on board and communicated to the relevant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I took my family of nine to Burford Bridge Hotel for afternoon tea today and it was great. The manager introduced himself whilst waiting in the reception area, and checked for any special requirements and our preference for the location. Nothing was too much trouble and the actual afternoon tea food was fresh and a good selection of sandwiches and cakes.
Will return if the opportunity arises.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank robins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your feedback please be assured that your kind comments have been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stay after a wedding in January. Warm in all areas, it was a very cold day. Excellent food arrived at table hot. Huge selection at breakfast, could not try it all!! One complaint, could not get a cup of tea during the evening at the reception.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was very positive to read that you enjoyed you stay here at Burford Bridge Hotel. However we do apologise that you were unable to get a cup of tea at the Wedding reception. We have passed on your comments to the relevant departments and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had lunch in the restaurant. Margaret and Manuel looked after us very well. Food was very good although the vegetables were undercooked and the salmon main course was nothing out of the ordinary. But a good choice for a relaxing lunch. The grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeJayHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband booked us in here for our wedding anniversary as a surprise. Everything was lovely. The room was spacious and comfortable, the food was great and the staff were so helpful and pleasant. Would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: there is also a large heated outdoor pool. GF rooms have doors that open into garden area - great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I was very pleased to read that your room was comfortable and spacious and that the food was great. It is always a pleasure to read that our staff were so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burford Bridge in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
221 reviews
14.8 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beaverbrook
Beaverbrook
#2 of 3 in Leatherhead
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
327 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: $100 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing