We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice but not four star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice friendly staff on arrival and up to my room. It was very nice, roomy with a desk and armchair. The tea making facilities were hiden in the wardrobe, the TV was partly obscured when you led in bed, which was actually very comfy.

A really nice roomy bathroom with very hot water.

We ate in the bar in the evening and "Shock Horror" the prices were more what you would expect in central London. £13 for a "Plain Burger" and an extortonate £4 for a pint of Fosters. My colleague had a Duck noodle dish and three glasses of wine and her bill was £35. Ridiculous. Good job the nibbles were free. I am by no means tight, but I detest being ripped off for drinks.

Any way a decent nights sleep and down to breakfast, which I have to say was fine, nice poached eggs and lovely toast.

At £114 for B&B it was a little bit too much for the standard you get. I have stayed in a lot better for a lot less.

Room Tip: Take a deep wallet if you want a few drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino246GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

I apologise that you did not feel that when you stayed at the Burford Bridge Hotel you received good value for money , it is always our aim to deliver excellent service and good value . Your comments have been taken on board and will be considered when reviewing our pricing structure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    151
    91
    47
    28
See reviews for
132
174
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked in via a travelzoo offer and met up with friends for a birthday celebration. The location suited us as it was equidistant between our respective homes and staying the night meant we could celebrate in style which we did. We thought the deal represented great value for money. We had a pleasant room overlooking the garden and an enjoyable dinner from a limited menu but we all managed to find something we liked. For a hotel the drink prices were not unreasonable. Breakfast was a buffet which offered a good choice. The service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. Our friends had to bring their young son with them at the last minute due to snow closing his school and the hotel were very accommodating by giving them a larger room to accomadate the three of them at no extra cost. Roll on the next deal.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Gust
Thank you for your posative comments i was pleased to read thet you had a good experience whilst staying at our Hotel . Your comments will be passed onto our team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter had,her wedding here on 12th January and we found the service, food and organisation excellent. Many guest commented,how much they,enjoyed the day. Comments included how seamlessly the day went. The venue was warm and comfortable with plenty of seating. Thanks for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent review it is always a pleasure to read such posative comments and please be assured they will be shared with the team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel itself is bright clean and really pleasant, the room we always stay in over looks the garden and is extremely comfortable, warm and well equipped with dressing gowns, etc. The hotel staff are an absolute pleasure and always courteous, polite and cannot do enough to help you. I do have to say the three times we have had food, twice the accompanying chips have been really awful, and really made me begrudge paying for my meal. Although the staff were apologetic and offered replacement, their chef definately needs training. The breakfast though is totally faultless and an absolute must. The hotel is dog friendly which for us with two very small dogs is why we stay here. Alround the hotel is superb.

Room Tip: We always stay in the same room, which overlooks the garden, which I would say in summer would be id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 981tullia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I will personally follow up on your comments about our chips- something I am very fond of myself (guilty pleasure I am afraid)

We hope to welcome you back again soon
If I can be of any assistance, please feel very welcome to contact me directly at the hotel.

Yours Faithfully

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Although it was 16/17 January the hotel was cold. Even our room had not been pre-heated but we followed instructions and warmed it up. The food was of a good standard, but in a cold dining room..... In fact, it was so cold my wife had to fetch another jumper; the cold nearly spoiled the occasion. There were only 3 in the dining room for dinner and the same for breakfast (the 3rd person being a different one to the 3rd the previous night!), but it seemed as though the food had been cooked early and left until we got down. There may have been more earlier as we went at about 9am. However, one should not expect dried-up, wrinkled sausages or coagulated baked beans and scrambled egg. Surely, for this number of guests each meal could have been cooked to order? We did have a nice birthday break. In addition, we could not lock our door when leaving the room and reported this soon after arriving; then had to repeat this when leaving next morning. We would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest thank you very much for placing your comments about our Hotel on Trip Advisor , I apologise that the room and restaurant felt cold and please be assured that we have investigated this and endeavour to make sure the issues are corrected ,. With regards to your breakfast we have reviewed our offering and when the Hotel is quiet we are now taking orders for our Breakfast . please contact me directly should you wish to stay again so we can ensure a comfortable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

An all round enjoyable stay. Great value all in package that included a bottle of chilled wine on arrival, a nice room overlooking the gardens and pool, three course dinner and a cooked breakfast. The hotel itself was clean, and in good order, the staff, (especially Margaret who served us both our meals) were extremely efficient and well mannered. The location right by Box Hill allowed for a relaxed and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sblanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope we will see you back soon

Warm regards

Paul Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights over Christmas and was greeted by a very cheery local Surrey girl who was extremely helpful. The hotel offered us an upgrade at5 no extra cost, which was also a good start and we were very please with the quality nof the room, notwithstanding that this part of the hotel(overlooking the gardens at the rear) is now looking ready for a redecoration scheme.
The principle rooms were traditional and very comfortable. The dining room and the quality of the breakfast excellent. The staff were able to provide items that were not on the menu and we were surprised to read criticisms of the breakfasts as we were more than satisfied..
As such we would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Thank you for your support

Paul Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Property: Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing