We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

New Year at the Burford Bridge, supberb, from the tea and cakes on arrival to the champagne and canapes at 7 followed by a five course meal and disco. The food was exellent and the staff were very attentive. We will be back!
Jackie B

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Fantastic feedback. Very much appreciated. We are happy that you celebrated New Year's Eve with us. We are planning a very similar event this year and would love to welcome you back again this year. Brochures will be available at the hotel from mid June onwards.

Kindest regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    147
    89
    47
    28
See reviews for
129
168
16
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

n/a
i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.
i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i hadi had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time. a very nii had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.ce time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.i had a very nice time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for repeatedly confirming that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. It is a great pleasure to get this feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here on business. Not a great business hotel as no WiFi reception in my room!
Room was cleanish but with very tired furnishings/decor and broken lampshades on the bedside tables.
I had a very early check-out as I was catching an early flight and I tried to check out the evening before but they told me they couldn't but would have everything ready in the morning. Come 4:15am I found the night receptionist asleep and he was unable to process my bill without calling for help. He was then unable to print me a receipt, though did email one later. Shows poor training of staff.

Room Tip: Near reception for WiFi reception?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback very seriously and actions have been taken to improve on the areas in which you experienced any shortcomings. New lamp shades have been purchased. New wifi has been installed as well.
The night porter on duty was not part of our full time staff and no longer works for our hotel.

We hope to be able to get the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have not satyed at this hotel but decided to try it for Sunday lunch for a family meal. The hotel it set back from the main road with easy access & a car park opposite - making access by car very convenient. It has a large lounge area where you can relax comfortablty & wifi. We had sunday lunch & the menu was great & traditional (roast beef etc), working out at approx, £35 per head for 3 courses. The Service was very professional & the food quantity & quality excellant. The resturant layout is roomy with a quality feel. The only let down (and hence not being marked excellant) was the very long delays between courses (30mins+ per course) & the cost which is on the high side. However, you can opt for a 2 course option if prefer. If you are looking for a qaulity place & great food but dont mind slow service - this is a great place to go.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clever_trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts here, we really value your feedback. We hope to be able to welcoming you back to our restaurant soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
231 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights and in general found the hotel to be perfectly reasonable

Room although perfectly adequate needed a little bit of TLC as paint peeling off the door, bath needed reselling etc and also slightly mucky duvet cover which wasn't terribly pleasant but looked like marks tha couldn't be washed out rather than something tha hadn't been washed (if you see what I mean!)

Restaurant was ok, food was good and service was excellent although had to ask for tea/coffee both mornings as no one actually offered this, breakfast selection very good and large choice of cold/hot buffet

Location is a little out the way but suited my needs so no complaints on tha front

All in all an ok hotel, not top end but perfectly adequate

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank your for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
All of your comments have been noted and will be passed to the relevant departments.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill as we were attending a wedding at the venue. This is a wonderful location for a wedding, the grounds are lovely and the staff are very attentive.
We upgraded our room. We were very impressed with the room, it was clean, spacious and decor was lovely.
I would definitely recommend this hotel however I would advise that you don't eat or drink here as food and drink is massively over priced.
Two vodka & lemonades at the bar came to £10 (single measures).
The price of food and drink is a massive rip off which really lets the hotel down!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatecakeyumyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding you attended and that you found the service to be very attentive and the location of the venue to be wonderful for a wedding.

I was however sorry to read that you found the drinks prices to be too high. Our drinks prices are higher than the average restaurant or pub, but therefore we always aim to deliver a higher quality food and service and to ensure that our wedding couples get the special day that they choose us for. Many of our drinks such as wine and lager are in line with local prices in the market.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you soon again.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a business trip in the area. I chose the hotel based on its proximity to my work location.

The strong point of the hotel is its service. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly and accommodating, even going so far as to find another (unaffiliated) hotel for my colleague when he had to extend his trip at the last minute and this hotel was fully booked. Check-in and check-out were both very friendly and I felt very welcome at the hotel. The room service and bar staff provided great service as well.

The room itself was clean and the beds were comfortable. The room was a good size and there was good water pressure, the right temperature, and decent working space. With that said, the TV had only a few limited channels which was disappointing, especially given that there's not much to do in this area! Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have a gym on-site (there's a gym in town that guests can use, but without a car, this doesn't do much good). The room service and restaurants menus were adequate but a bit limited in their options. They were a decent value though.

The hotel is in a remote location and is best if you have your own car. Without a car there's not really anything to do in the immediate area and there's not any restaurants or pubs within walking distance.

If I had to do business in the area, I'd consider the hotel again, but might also go a bit further afield for better on-site amenities like a gym.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. I would also like to let you know that there is a local pub just around the corner from our hotel which is certainly at walking distance. I would also like to recommend you to go for a run on top of Box Hill, which has beautiful views and would be a great alternative to any fitness centre. For your information, we are however currently doing a business study in building a gym.

Thanks again for your review.
All best wishes,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#5 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
4.7 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Property: Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing