We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for very poor service and staff attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for very poor service and staff attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

After booking this hotel I read a review which described dirty glasses left outside the room, I could not believe it when we arrived at our room-with no help from staff and found dirty glasses outside. The room was extremely dusty with stained carpets and the toilet had a Stanley blade lying in the bottom. Room service was poor and the gluten free bread we had requested on booking was not available. All in all very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your review.
As you also replied via our online guest feedback form, I sent you my apologies via this tool a last month. We certainly strive to keep our corridors free of litter and we have put extra daily walk rounds in place by our duty management team to ensure that whatever time of day, we minimize any trays left in our corridors.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    151
    91
    47
    28
See reviews for
132
174
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 40 years witnessing several changes of ownership. It remains a beautiful hotel. Situated in stunning countryside, it exudes comfort and luxury. The staff are wonderful and so helpful. Whether you want to spend time relaxing in the very comfortable lounge or climb Box Hill or explore the countryside this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a balcony where one can sit and enjoy sitting in the sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on an ad hoc whim - Could not fault it at all
Front Office reception staff (a young lad) was extremely friendly and helpful.
Room was large , clean with all mod cons that you would expect from a Mercure, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Very useful location for Box Hill, but we walked across the road (useful subway under the A24) and took a train from the adjacent station - Boxhill and Westhumble, for a night out in Epsom.....

Couldn't have worked out better!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments on tripadvisor. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had such a positive experience at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel.
I will pass your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Free parking across the road from the hotel
Check was friendly and efficient
Garden room was very good. Well presented with modern decoration, very clean. Small balcony with chairs and table over looking the garden. Modern Tv, tea making, water all provided in the room. Nice comfortable bed.
Bathroom was ok, shower only.

Used the bar which offered friendly service, rather limited choice of draught beer.

Had breakfast in the room which was excellent, good service, standard of food and arrived spot on time.

I would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on tripadvisor. I am glad you had a good stay with us at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel in Dorking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have stayed at this hotl on 4 different occasions in the last 2 months, because it is local to my place of work.
I would not have breakfast here, £16.50 for buffet and cooked is not good value when the cooked is not fresh. I had scrambled egg which seemed like it had been cooked the day before and the tomato also.
Uprated rooms are good, although I had to complain on 2 occasions that the air con wasn't working; the ceiling lights did not come on and rooms at the front are not good value as there is always noise from the A24. The advert that says you get uprated toiletries in the uprated rooms is not true, they are all the same.
The last time I satayed the paying policy had changed which meant I couldn't charge to my room because I was using a debit card. Ordering room service meant I had to go to reception to pay, they did waive the tray charge though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and your feedback will help us to improve on our services. We are reviewing our breakfast pricing within the company. I will feedback your thoughts on this to the breakfast committee. All the hot food is cooked to order during the week and served from a buffet over the weekends. All airconditioning and heating units are in a good condition at present and I apologize for any shortcomings you have experienced during your stay.

Kindest regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

What a great little find! Stayed here for two nights. Basic clean rooms with good powerful shower. Lovely service at reception- really went extra mile to help me out. And a bonus the breakfast was delicious with plenty of hot / cold and healthy options.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel in lovely location, but overpriced for facilities on offer. The hotel in general needs updating and the rooms refurbing, especially the bathrooms. Breakfast on Saturday morning was chaotic, items on the buffet ran out and there were very few staff in attendance. Drinks at the bar are overpriced even by hotel standards, we were so shocked by the cost of the round we queried it.

Room Tip: If they have a function on and you want to sleep before midnight request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to call me on 01306 884 561 to discuss this further. With kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Property: Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing