We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Free parking across the road from the hotel
Check was friendly and efficient
Garden room was very good. Well presented with modern decoration, very clean. Small balcony with chairs and table over looking the garden. Modern Tv, tea making, water all provided in the room. Nice comfortable bed.
Bathroom was ok, shower only.

Used the bar which offered friendly service, rather limited choice of draught beer.

Had breakfast in the room which was excellent, good service, standard of food and arrived spot on time.

I would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on tripadvisor. I am glad you had a good stay with us at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel in Dorking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    155
    92
    49
    28
See reviews for
135
183
17
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I have stayed at this hotl on 4 different occasions in the last 2 months, because it is local to my place of work.
I would not have breakfast here, £16.50 for buffet and cooked is not good value when the cooked is not fresh. I had scrambled egg which seemed like it had been cooked the day before and the tomato also.
Uprated rooms are good, although I had to complain on 2 occasions that the air con wasn't working; the ceiling lights did not come on and rooms at the front are not good value as there is always noise from the A24. The advert that says you get uprated toiletries in the uprated rooms is not true, they are all the same.
The last time I satayed the paying policy had changed which meant I couldn't charge to my room because I was using a debit card. Ordering room service meant I had to go to reception to pay, they did waive the tray charge though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and your feedback will help us to improve on our services. We are reviewing our breakfast pricing within the company. I will feedback your thoughts on this to the breakfast committee. All the hot food is cooked to order during the week and served from a buffet over the weekends. All airconditioning and heating units are in a good condition at present and I apologize for any shortcomings you have experienced during your stay.

Kindest regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

What a great little find! Stayed here for two nights. Basic clean rooms with good powerful shower. Lovely service at reception- really went extra mile to help me out. And a bonus the breakfast was delicious with plenty of hot / cold and healthy options.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel in lovely location, but overpriced for facilities on offer. The hotel in general needs updating and the rooms refurbing, especially the bathrooms. Breakfast on Saturday morning was chaotic, items on the buffet ran out and there were very few staff in attendance. Drinks at the bar are overpriced even by hotel standards, we were so shocked by the cost of the round we queried it.

Room Tip: If they have a function on and you want to sleep before midnight request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car0leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to call me on 01306 884 561 to discuss this further. With kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Nice hotel located next to Box Hill. Only complaints are complete lack of help from one male member of reception staff, who really made no effort at all to help out, and the shower pressure was extremely low and sprayed water everywhere except over me! Breakfast was good but very overpriced (£16), in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C71NewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I have looked at all your feedback and I was disappointed to read that one of our staff members did not offer the appropriate level of service that one should expect. I am sorry for the shortcomings you received.
Meanwhile we have upgraded the shower heads in question to ensure that the shower pressure is at a far better level than it was before. We have also set up a breakfast committee within the company, which has been tasked to investigate and make proposals to our breakfast offer. This will also include a review of our breakfast pricing.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great staff make this a great venue.
We had a small wedding and the garden room was perfect. The hotel is lovely, old world and at the same time contemporary. The suppliers were very great as well (eg. florists).

The wedding team are very professional and helpful. The banquet team are so warm and took care of us every step of the way. The front desk team ensured all our guests were allocated rooms soon as possible and kept an attentive eye on everything.

We enjoyed every moment of our stay the night before, followed by our wedding day and the day after.

Tony and team, very glad we chose you. Thank you so very much for making us feel so special and at home. We were very well looked after!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLqvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind words. My team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your wedding so much. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope to see you here for your anniversary.

Kind regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Great place to chill by the pool on a hot summer afternoon and then maybe go for a swim.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good time at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
979 reviews
4.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
538 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Property: Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing