We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Very Historic and Well Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have stayed here a few times and some of the rooms are very old (specify the main building if you want one that is) and it has the true feel of an old british coaching inn. All round its a nice place in a good location with lots of great pubs - Surrey Yeoman 100m away is 1st on my list - and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor, we value our customer’s feedback and use the website to help monitor and maintain our high standards of service.

I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you were suitably impressed with the location of the hotel and that you very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future and I would like to thank you once again for your kind comments.

With kind regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 518 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our second stay at this hotel. Very good and central on the High Street with good parking. The staff all pleasant and helpful except housekeeping who did not act on a note I left in room. I know I could have followed up at reception but didn't bother. We will stay again though. We were there for a family Christening and the buffet lunch was at the hotel afterwards. Excellent food provided.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor, we value our customer’s feedback use it to help monitor and maintain our high standards of service.

I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you were suitably impressed with the location of the hotel and its ample parking. It was also very pleasing to read that on the whole, my staff surpassed your expectations and that you very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I was naturally concerned regarding your comments about housekeeping. Please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and the matter will be addressed.

I was very pleased to hear about your comments regarding the quality of our food provided for a recent event which you attended and I have fed this back to the kitchen team.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future and I would like to thank you once again for your kind comments.

With kind regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Jan on business trip. The hotel is quite large with rooms scattered.
The rooms are adequately equipped but in the annex we had been allocated to (looked like student accommodation) the walls were thin, bathroom and decor rather tired and space a bit cramped.
Main part of the hotel was quaint and breakfast decent enough. Reception staff very helpful.
Location wise it is thoroughly central to Dorking and has plenty of parking.
If staying in a room outside of the main part, an umbrella to get to breakfast would be beneficial, as the hotel does not provide.
I found the stay not particularly comfortable and have had better facilities from more budget hotels. Value for money was also not special in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments here. We appreciate all feedback and I am encouraged that my team met with your expectations. With regard to the points which you raised regarding the rear accommodation block I’ll look into these personally.
In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the White Horse Hotel in Dorking in the future.

Kind regards,

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed over the New Year and found this hotel a real surprise. This hotel is located in the center of Dorking and is old, which means low ceilings. Old beams and creaky floor boards. The rooms are modern and beds very comfortable. The whole hotel was heated so nice and relaxing when cold outside. The bar and reception area are welcoming with comfy chairs and sofas for a drink. We had breakfast on the second day and we ordered off the menu as the hot buffet was not on and it was good, you do get a good selection , but not worth £ 15 pp. All the staff are friendly and helpfull

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the out buildings if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor

I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you were suitably impressed with the location of the hotel, its warmth and character which is also commented on by many of our guests.

It is very encouraging to read that my team did meet your expectations and were hospitable, friendly and efficent, although it appears that our breakfast offering was not quite up to your expectations. This has been addressed with my food and beverage department and is being constantly monitored.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the White Horse Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
1.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,058 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel, Dorking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England (Formerly Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: $124 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel, Dorking 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 41 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse Hotel, Dorking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing