We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed March 26, 2013

There are a few parts to this hotel; the original building has the more interesting rooms, according to the chap on the reception, whilst the ones in the annex are quieter. It should be noted that there is no lift in the building. Our rooms were in the annex and were clean and well presented. The bathroom was functional, although tired. We stayed in Dorking during the recent cold weather and the single pane metal frame windows ran with condensation. Dinner and breakfast were very good with excellent service. The only criticism of the restaurant for dinner was the lighting which was way too bright and detracted from the dining experience. I would certainly recommend this hotel for the location and would stay there again when I am next in the area.

Room Tip: Annex for quietness, main building for quirkiness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

We at the White Horse Hotel in Dorking very much appreciate all your thoughts.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have noted all your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 518 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times with work, the hotel is situated in the centre of town so it is possible to go out to the shops, restaurants etc should you need. I've stayed in the old part of the hotel which is a traditional English coaching inn and the newer annex. The annex is a bit dated décor wise, however the room I had was clean and comfortable, the bed was comfortable and bedding good. The room facilities consist of tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board and TV with a number of freeview channels. The staff were friendly and provided good service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our bedroom, the Ethel room, was beautifully furnished and comfortable but as yet not double glazed, consequently traffic noise became a nuisance. The bathroom was functional but will benefit from some modernization. Dinner and Breakfast were excellent and the service at table and reception were exemplary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank michael-tassell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have used this hotel on business trips a couple of times recently and found it a little odd. I had rooms in the annex on both visits, the rooms were fine, clean, well maintained, decent enough facilities, however, there's no lift so you have to lug your bags upstairs. The hotel can offer assistnace with luggage but as there are few staff on reception it's not readily offered. There is an iron & ironing board in each room which is welcome when travelling on business to ensure a smart appearance. The annex is across the car park and there is no internal route to it. The bar, restaurant & reception are all in the main building which is an old coaching house I think, if the beamed, open fire, snug bar type place appeals then you'll love it. I had a sense that it had seen better days.
Breakfast is a buffet, covering hot & cold options, plus you can order from a menu, and it's fine except for the coffee. Way too rich a roast, almost burnt tasting, and far too strong for my tastes. I ate in the restaurant on one stay and was unimpressed, quite a limited choice and I felt expensive; I am quite a fussy eater and my meal was served exactly as I had asked it which was a pleasant change but the quality was not as I'd have hoped, disappointing in fact.
I had an odd sensation of having stepped back in time a little in this hotel; but on single night stays for the convenience of it's location I can live with that. Dorking has plenty of local eateries to avail yourself of too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettie_Booker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to read that on the whole your experience was enjoyable.

With regard to your restaurant experience, I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention, as it is only through receiving comments such as yours that I am able to constantly monitor the service and standards offered to our guests.

I do hope you will return to Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future where we can demonstrate that progress is being made in light of your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really wasn't expecting too much here : Chain hotel, town centre, Saturday night, booked late. Pleasantly surprised. Reception staff very helpful. Room fine. Cosy bar area. I had to have room service breakfast as had to leave early Sunday morning, but the rest of the family reported an excellent breakfast in the dining room. Shame I missed out on that!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank treasurybills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have
been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at the White Horse Hotel in Dorking.

Kind regards,

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel fairly often. The service is excellent. The rooms very comfortable and well appointed. The hotel is sited in the middle of town so it is possible to go out to the shops whenever one feels like it. The proximity of Boxhill makes it ideal for a walking holiday

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much
and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the White Horse Hotel in
Dorking.

Kind regards,

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staff very helpful and polite. Rooms beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Tele a bit cack and some wear and tear in bathroom but all very clean.

Breakfast was delicious with massive choice of options.

Great place to stay with open fire and atmospheric pub/bar.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve_london_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
1.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,058 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel, Dorking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England (Formerly Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: $126 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel, Dorking 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 41 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse Hotel, Dorking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing