We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with a central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Norwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business stay this week. I was on the second floor of the block behind, which was awkward carrying bags without a lift. The carpets etc were definitely well worn but I was pleasantly surprised with my room. It was spacious, clean and had the right temperature ( so often hotel rooms are stifling!) The bed was exceptionally comfortable, I usually struggle sleeping in an unfamiliar bed, but slept like a log both nights. The room was well serviced and very peaceful.The breakfast was very good with a choice of fresh cooked favourites as an option such as kippers, eggs benedict etc. The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and helpful, though the Reception staff could have done with cracking a smile occasionally. Overall I will definitely use this hotel again as I will probably have to travel to the area again for business in the future. It's location, in the middle of the high street, is spot on with lots of quaint shops and resturants in walking distance ( and a few favourable hostelries)

Room Tip: If you are ok with stairs rooms at the end of the block are extremely peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    197
    131
    56
    31
See reviews for
75
183
50
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my 3rd time at the White Horse and I want to say, one more time, that I LOVE IT.
The staff are great and the hotel manager Mr. Cooper is a really gentleman.
Rooms are very clean and breakfast is fantastic. They have now a plasma tv in the bar area that looks great. Bar toilets has been refurbished. they have now a big variety of drinks at the bar.
I highly recommend this hotel to everybody that visit Dorking because is in the town center surrounded for all the shops.

Room Tip: All residents can use the local leisure center for free. Just only need to show the key card from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupifragum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is quaint, but we were staying in a block at the back on the second floor. As we entered the block there was a very stained sofa which was extremely off putting. The room though was clean although a little dated , the beds were comfortable and bedding good.

I was astounded by the cost of the internet , it was £9 for 3 hours and £12.50 for a few hours more. nowadays many hotels included this as free and taking into account we were paying £94 for the room ( it was not in my opinion worth this) I think this was a rip off. I only needed the internet for business to check up emails , so must have only used it for half an hour max, it was only wifi and the signal was poor

The shower was weak, but the bathroom was clean. The breakfast was very nice , with a good range on offer and plenty of it. Prices of drinks were very high , but the location was very central in Dorking.

Overall, I wouldn't come back to this hotel , it was convenient to us as we were attending a wedding, but very pricey for what it was.

Room Tip: Ask to not go in the 2 storey block at the back.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank amadoldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Eddy is the only reason this hotel does not get five stars. What a pompous man! He really would benefit from a few pointers for good customer service. I saw him be rude to other customers at the bar as well as myself and my group, and other members of staff.

The hotel on the other hand was lovely. Nice setting, nice big rooms and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonskiT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The first time I stayed here I was not sure what to think as it was very rustic and a very traditional English Inn, but I found the more I have stayed the more it is cozy and welcoming. The staff are very friendly and fantastically helpful. If you want to eat in, the food is very solidly good. I have a gluten allergy and they do not carry any breads with is unfortunate, so I get breakfast from the shops all around but that is not too horrible. If you tire of eating in, there are lots of local options to pick from of all cuisines. The rooms are older, but kept clean by very friendly cleaning staff. Overall, outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridem76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The French have got this place organised, as part of Mercure. 8 members of our family and two friends had rooms with breakfast for two nights, and 20 of us had a celebration meal in a private dining room on the Saturday evening. We'd booked early, which got us a good rate, non-transferable. Our room in the old part was confortable if rather small. There were no complaints from the two in the tower block. Everyone said how comfortable their beds were. We had excellent service from all the staff, who were without exception very pleasant and efficient. Our dinner was pre-ordered and all variations were accurately catered for and efficiently served. The breakfasts were excellent - a great hot buffet plus extra choices cooked to order. With ample parking and a high street location (with bedrooms well away from the road) this is a very good base for exploring the Surrey countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The old part of this hotel looks lovely, but if you are unfortunate enough to stay in the tower block things are not so rosey.

The first thing we saw was a grubby old sofa and a pile of dirty plates, which appeared to be replaced every day. There were 3 flights of stairs up to our room. The whole of there building felt grubby and old. The breakfast was ok, but not worth the £17.50 you get charged if you don't book in advance, its only £10 then. Inside the room was ok, small bathroom with no lock. It had a fridge, a bottle or two of water would have been a nice touch, but was sadly lacking. Price of drinks in the bar were scandalous. £19 for a rough bottle of red.

The only real high points where its location and the wonderful you lady on reception when we arrived on 20th Oct 2012. I didn't catch her name, but she bent over backwards to help us, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dorking hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
1.5 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#5 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
4.8 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel, Dorking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Property: The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England (Formerly Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel, Dorking 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 41 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Horse Hotel, Dorking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing