We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the 'excellence'?”

Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where was the 'excellence'?”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Given the overwhelming number of reviews of 4-5 stars this place has obtained I was really looking forward to my lunch. Unfortunately it was lacking in every respect and I cannot recommend this establishment given the other options in the area.
There were many details that had been over looked but I noticed some immediate holes. The cutlery was dirty, not one of two implements but all of them! The (tap) water bottle had rust around the latch fixings and looked very dirty. How much effort is it to clean a bottle for goodness sake? The table has specs of grit/dirt on it. All of this noticed before we even ordered anything.
The service was extremely slow and to say the waitresses were completely nonshalant would be an understatement.
The food was average at best and very pricey given the textures/flavours/ingredients. I get the feeling this restaurant caters for the retired money belt in the area who care not for paying a few extra pounds for their meals. People who regularly eat in different locations, however, will be disappointed.
I may be being hypercritical here and yes the dinner menu might be a much better option but when I see someone getting a certificate of excellent I expect nothing less 24/7.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrismanDeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    68
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply Marvellous!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

After watching an evening film in the olde worlde, comfortable cinema attached to the restaurant, we had a drink in the bar. (NB An adult evening ticket was FAR cheaper than our local Chavy Odeon!).
The bar is trendy and fun.. They've got a wide choice of wines by the glass, beers and bubbles.
Although it was about 10pm on a Saturday night, the kitchen was still open and the staff were most accommodating. We were able to order what we wanted (just a starter, mains or dessert) and sat to eat at the bar - at the heart of the action!
We both ordered the Belly of Pork, with a Black Pudding and Scotch egg combo, greens and sauce. This dish was delicious - the Pork melted in our mouths and the veg was plentiful and hot. Superb!
We then chose a single dessert between the two of us, the main course having been filling. We opted for the Strawberry Trifle. Excellent Choice! The dish came superbly presented, with a sublimely tasting custard, strawberries in a tasty Champagne jelly and a good portion.
We were not hurried to leave when we finished, despite it being late, and the bill wasn't high.
We will definitely be going back - next time we will try the great value Dinner & Film ticket at only £30 per adult.
Do try! The staff and owner look committed to providing superb food, at a good price with fine service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louchelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“George Woodbridge”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

After our first visit to the restaurant and extremely poor meal I sent the manager an email with the following details........ the so called themed Cuban meal was shockingly poor. Our rice was undercooked and had to be returned to the kitchen. The main course black beans were also hard and the whole meal was extremely bland and reminiscent of tasteless school dinners. For the price charged this was extremely poor value for money.

They didn't even have the courtesy to reply.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Valentines lunch”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Had an absolutely gorgeous lunch. 5 plates off the tapas menu and a couple of oysters. Good value and really tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Valentine Lunch”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just got back from lunch at the Riverside and felt had to post a review. Just excellent food, well served and great value. To start, 3 x Fresh Deben Oysters and an Octopus Salad (not from Suffolk presumably). Main, 1 x Adnams Haddock and home made chips with peas and tartare sauce, 1 x Rainbow trout thai infused with noodles. Washed down with 3 x glasses of Chablis. Dessert dark chocolate thing with popcorn ice cream. Mmmmm. And all for £61 plus tip.
Cant be beaten round here we reckon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 

Been to Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing