We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gloopy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Panda

Golden Panda
Ranked #58 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gloopy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Been a few times and that is enough now. For the money I would rather go some place that has been decorated since the 1980's. Do not like the toilet doors always being left open. For the sake of a return spring. It feels like the owners have given up, become jaded and are just milking the business without any investment. Food is OK'ish but I would rather get a take away and microwave it myself to save them the trouble of doing it for me and charging a premium price. Feel sorry for the staff as they try so hard

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John-Andrew-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    12
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better Chinese at tesco !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Someone needs to rescue this place. 70s decor ...food ..... just unpleasant...
Was worse than the worst school dinners. Utter waste of money and time, don't bother.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not my first visit here & probably will come again. Service is excellent. I really can't fault the front of house ladies, but the food is mediocre at best.
I can't believe how much salt I added in an attempt to get some flavour in to the food. Not something I usually do!
Piping hot & tasteless. The sizzling dish arrived at the table in a gravy boat & was poured on to the hot platter at the table!! Bizarre!
Will try again & hope for better. Maybe I just chose poorly from the extensive menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacbelbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pretty bog standard Westernised Chinese food with friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is OK for an occasional meal, but doesn't offer authentic Chinese food from any region. The Sunday all-you-can-eat buffet is very popular, especially with seniors. But it's unadventurous stuff – lots of sweet and sour, gloopy sauces and prawn crackers. Bit like stepping back to the 70s and 80s Chinese restaurant experience. So, not bad, but basically Westernised Chinese. The staff are very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BOwm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Panda also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Wickham Market, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Golden Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing