We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DOGS NOT WELCOME (only if it's an assistance dog)”

Orford Ness National Nature Reserve
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest shingle spit in Europe was a top-secret military site from 1913 to the 1980s.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“DOGS NOT WELCOME (only if it's an assistance dog)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Like most visitors we met, we came to Orford with our dog to get some fresh air, good food, drink and loads of exercise and to see a bit of history. After buying the book and reading up on the history of Orford Ness we were looking forward to visiting this former weapons / cold war research and development site. From the early 1900's till 1993 it was used for weapons testing and then taken over by the National Trust.

But, when we got to the quay side we were informed that Wellie, our dog, wasn't welcome on the Ness. Oh dear.

So, we reverted to Plan B and the Jolly Sailor (see separate fine review) which Wellie enjoyed immensely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank samcottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    54
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

great if you like walking diverse landscape with many birds and also the old MOD buildings
downfall only 1 loo on the whole Island

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank andreasphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chislehurst
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Visit the castle. You will get great views across the ness and the surrounding countryside. You will see where weapons were tested during the cold war and can take a guided walk around the old military site. This is in addition to the multitude of birds that now inhabit the area. It can make the basis of a good day out if the weather is kind

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveChislehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really enjoyed the scenery, military history, looking at wildlife. Did two of the walks (linked). The ferry trip added to the fun. If you want to do the walks justice, you need a good amount of time. Got good value, tasty sandwiches to take to the Ness from the shop in Orford (not the one on the quay, though that may well be good too). There is a toilet on the Ness.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElliseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Stunning !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Gorgeous walk along the waterside, full of birdlife, bees and butterflies, only wish we had more time here, we endeavour to go back for the weekend to make the most of the vast array of things to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orford Ness National Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Orford Ness National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing