We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of The Ramsholt Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ramsholt Arms
Ranked #9 of 22 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived on a cold, wet and blustery lunchtime in October and found the newly redecorated interior both cold in terms of temperature and also rather lacking in any character. Perhaps it could do with some warmer coloured furnishings and a fire would have cheered it up no end. All in all it felt rather more like a city pub than a country pub welcoming muddy walkers and dogs (although they do allow dogs). No doubt it all looks nicer and less anaemic on a bright summer's day.

We had visited the Ramsholt Arms several times over the years and perhaps it was getting a bit tired but it seemed a very homely environment. The food was always reasonably priced if perhaps rather ordinary pub grub. The new menu was an improvement and we both had the crayfish and prawn starter which was quite good although the granary bread slices were a little stale and there was no butter, which had to be asked for. I chose the sausage and mash which I thoroughly enjoyed but my husband was less than delighted with his ham, egg and chips. The eggs were well cooked, the chips seemed to have been reheated and were not at all pleasant (a shame as he only eats chips when out as a treat) and the ham seemed to have been carved using a razor, it was so thin. It was just not the hearty sort of meal that he expected from ham, egg and chips at £10.50. The staff were extremely pleasant and of course the location is fabulous. I am pretty sure we will go again, purely on account of location and particularly when sitting outside there are few better places on a summer's day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    28
    28
    12
See reviews for
64
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have visited before but only for liquid refreshments. Today we had a meal. Our table was superbly located with excellent views over the river Deben. There is a good range of meals on offer and these are generally not the "normal" meals available. The meal was served promptly and all three of our choices were of good quality and the portions were not skimped. This is deservedly a very popular restaurant and booking is advised, due to the length of journey to reach this destination and lack of similar restaurants locally. This is highly recommended and worth the 6 mile country drive from Woodbridge

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was looking forward to visiting the Ramsholt Arms for lunch after it's change of ownership. However although the building had been well done up the food was not good value for money. The starter was good, but the main course a big disappointment. My rib of beef was tough and the manageress tried to tell me it was because I had asked for it well done. I know well done meat is tougher, but this was really tough, also there was only one slice and the vegetables were poor, mainly root vegetables and some rather insipid red cabbage. If I am paying £12.50 for a roast, I expect much better than that. The service was also slow, nearly an hour and a half for two courses and the restaurant was not particularly busy. The food here was certainly not up to the standard of their other restaurant in Ufford.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ate here at a Sunday lunchtime and had fantastic home cooked food. Portion sizes are good and service was quick and friendly. We would especially recommend the shepherds pie. It was lovely to eat whilst watching the boats sail past.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We returned to The Ramsholt Arms this year having been last year, when we enjoyed the fantastic views and a very nice meal at a good price. This year we noticed the place had been refurbished and looked rather smart. The menu was extensive and it read very well, if rather expensive. However, it seems 'fine dining' is what they are trying to achieve, with high prices, small portions and unfortunately, very average food (definitely not fine). The manager/proprietor asked us if we enjoyed our meal and when we said it was ok, nothing special and we were still hungry, he seemed unconcerned. It appeared that he did not really want to know what we thought! Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woodbridge hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

An birthday meal with my wife and friends. Although booking was a bit difficult (website booking tool would not work), that was the only aspect than did disappoint. We were shown straight to our table, by the window with fabulous views of the Deben Estuary, and service after that was attentive without being imposing. The food was perfectly cooked, portions just the right size and extremely tasty. Some of the combinations, such as quail eggs on mushrooms, were unusual but worked very well. There was a good choice of wines, none of it particularly expensive. Two of us had duck for the main course (cooked different ways) and it came perfectly rose. The prices were extremely reasonable for what was provided.
It is a bit of a trek to get there, but very definitely worth the journey. But ring to book rather than going through the website.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandsue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a lovely meal for my Birthday. The pub has recently changed hands ( same owners as the Crown at Ufford now) and it has had a makeover which is a great improvement.
A bit off the beaten track but worth the detour. The view has always been great but the food compliments it. We had a table by the window so we could enjoy these views. The food was lovely and the waitresses attentive. For a special occasion it was great but I hope they do a less expensive snack menu too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoFloGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
6.5 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.6 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
797 reviews
13.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
653 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ramsholt Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramsholt Arms

Property: The Ramsholt Arms
Address: Dock Road | Ramsholt, Woodbridge IP12 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Ramsholt Arms Hotel Woodbridge
The Ramsholt Arms Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing