We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rental”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shearers Cottage

Shearers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shearers Cottage
Shearers Cottage Shearers Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Shearers Cottage
Shearers Cottage
Shearers Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Dining Room
Poppy Bedroom
Green Bedroom
Sutton Hoo Burial Site
The Farm
The Farm
Woodbridge
Woodbridge
Woodbridge
Woodbridge Tidemill
Woodbridge Windmill
Woodbridge
The River Deben
The River Deben
The River Deben
The River Deben
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Woodbridge, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Crooke
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect rental”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Shearers Cottage is just perfect, very comfortable and with everything you need including dishwasher, washing machine etc. and is ideal for a family, with swings and a trampoline, indoor games and DVDs. The location is secluded but within easy reach of Suffolk's attractions. We had a little trouble finding the cottage because our SatNav sent us somewhere else but if you turn into the road signposted Sutton Hoo from the main road (B1083) the cottage is just on the right. The owner is very friendly and welcoming and has paid a great deal of attention to detail and guests' needs, even leaving us tea, coffee, milk etc. and a bottle of wine - very thoughtful and appreciated when all you want when you arrive is a nice cup of tea !!!
Overall a brilliant place to stay and you certainly will not regret it.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: Slight traffic noise from the road during the day
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it is always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliancad...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The photos and past reviews of the cottage are from when it was first opened. When we arrived from the outside the cottage looked lovely and on first appearances on entering it looked fine but once we were unpacked and has the opportunity to take in the appearance of the cottage looked tired and was in need of a good update, the carpet was worn and ill fitting through wear and tear. The best feature of the cottage was the kitchen, it looked new and had everything anyone would need to stay there. In the bathroom in the main bedroom the plug in the bath did not hold the water and a bath could not be had until we had spoken to the owner who had to provide a new plug the next day. The sink in the second bathroom had the same problem, both these issues did not appear to be new as one of the plugs had a coating of white mastic on it trying to serve as a washer to prevent the leakage. As the holiday progressed a smell of damp began to emit from the second bedroom, whether it was a leak from the pipes or just inadequate drainage I would not like to say. We did comment in the Vistors Book about the smell when we left .

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was great
Liked least: The description and the current photos are misleading to the condition of the cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
We are sorry that you did not enjoy our cottage as much as you had hoped. The plug issue was dealt with promptly and at no time did you comment on a drainage smell so I was not aware of this, sorry. I will ask our present guests if they are having a problem and thank you for drawing our attention to it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RugbyRuth...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here by chance as we usually stay in Orford but this place came up on trip advisor so we decided to have a change of scene. We are so glad we did as this was a little gem, a short walk from Sutton Hoo. The accommodation was clean and well laid out with ensuite bathrooms for both bedrooms, something that our young children loved. They also adored the trampoline and the swing set outside, so much that they did not want to leave!
The kitchen was well equipped and it had a large fridge freezer and also a separate smaller fridge. The beds were very comfortable and the living room area was well thought out with a tv and dvd player. Free wifi was also much appreciated.
This is a great place to stay whether you are a family or a couple. It's ideally located close to Woodbridge and Orford and the nearest pub is a 800 metre walk down a hill with a footpath. It is near a reasonably busy road but it's perfectly safe and the beautiful and handy setting more than makes up for this.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing value for money.
Liked least: Sorting the rubbish, sorry!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very well appointed cottage, especially the kitchen. Clean, and a friendly welcome from Helen. Comfortable furniture inside and out. Walking distance to Sutton Hoo, and easy travelling to Southwold, Aldeburgh, and Orford. Also try Bawdsey Ferry, and for a wet day try Christchurch Mansion in Ipswich - Tudor, with Constable and others art on display - and its free !
Downside, if you are tall and follicly challenged, beware of being cooked by the lights in the kitchen. Also there is a bit of road noise.
Lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vascot
Ascot, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location close to attractions, walks and the coastline”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally situated with Sutton Hoo on the doorstep and within easy driving distance to the Suffolk coastline. We wanted somewhere near Woodbridge and Ipswich to enable us to meet with friends and visit the coast and local attractions and this cottage met our needs superbly. The owner was very welcoming and we had a brilliant 3 night stay.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely for a break”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here last weekend after booking last minute, and I am so pleased we did. Idea location for Woodbridge with the coast at Aldborough only 20 minutes away. 2 great size bedrooms with very well appointed bathrooms. The day bed is in the open plan main living area, not dining room as stated. However the twin room was made up as a super king, which left plenty of room for us to put the pull out bed from under the day bed in the room for our daughter.
Having the play equipment outside was a real bonus for our 5 year old, and the bottle of wine in the fridge was a lovely welcome. We would definitely recommend it and will be booking again.

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauxtongi...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First year's trading”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stopped for a week at Shearer's Cottage which is on the road leading to Sutton Hoo. It is a bright, airy cottage with beautifully appointed double bedrooms, both en suite, one with a bath. There is a through lounge with kitchen and cloakroom off it. This is the first year of trading. The cottage was rather closer to the road than we had hoped It is built in the garden of the farmhouse and we thought that it would be further away from traffic noise than it was. Overnight it was reasonably quiet, but sitting outside there was the constant noise of traffic. Otherwise, little to complain about, apart from too small a fridge. It was tiny for 2 of us, it would have been impossible with a family. Plenty of cooking implements and enough crockery for 6, though if there are 6 of you, it would mean 2 people sleeping in the lounge on the full-sized put-u-up.

We very much enjoyed the area - and being less than an hour and a half from home meant not too much travel. Woodbridge is within 2 miles and has plenty of shops plus the river, so plenty to do.

All in all, a good holiday rental

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large en-suite bedrooms
Liked least: Tiny fridge
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2012
Thank you very much for feedback and your kind comments regarding our holiday cottage. We take on board your comment regarding the fridge, although it is a full size under counter fridge we have now purchased an additional fridge for future guests use. With regards to the road noise, as the road is not visible from the cottage and established gardens and woodland surround the cottage we do not feel it is too intrusive to be able to sit and enjoy the surroundings. Close proximity to the road allows guests easy access to nearby places of interest and Suffolk's heritage coastline.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing