We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Ranked #3 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: has been closed for a while but recently reopened, completely refurbished. Part of the Deben Inns group
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food and good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Been to this place twice in the last week and enjoyed both visits. The ambience and decor inside is very pleasant, warm, friendly, cosy atmosphere. On a cold autumn day they had the log fires glowing nicely and it felt like a very welcome port in a storm.
On both occasions we ate from the 'Two courses for £10' menu and we were all very pleased with what we got. The starters of goats cheese, bacon and rocket salad were very well prepared and my plate of smoked fish from Pinney's of Orford was delicious. Generous portions without being over-faced. I can also recommend the baked field mushroom as a starter too, served with a cranberries. Definitely worth a visit for the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danrSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    179
    50
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely evening with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Well what a gem..After discussing with friends and receiving various recommendations I finally decided to take the plunge and visit the Coach and Horses, I certainly wasn't disappointed. The service was very attentive making sure all our needs catered for, and this compliment with good quality food and an excellent choice of menu made for a very enjoyable evening.

Well Done and Thank You.
We will be back...

Helpful?
1 Thank Chesh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having been here before and got charged for another tables drinks we decided to give this place another chance.We arrived for lunch found a lovely table by the fire with 4 comfy chairs but checked to see if the 2 of us could sit there barman says yes fine. Hubby comes back with drinks so we start to look at the menu when a lady the manager I think says Hey guys can you move to another table because I want to put 6 people here and there's only you 2 and starts arranging the chairs couldn't believe it how rude then she couldn't understand why we decided to leave!!! I have never complained on tripadvisor before but she was unbelievable,what happened to customer care obviously they were more interested in making money,so won't be going there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good menu, good service, well presented and delicious. Highly recommended.

We had heard that the Coach and Horses had become quite a good eatery and decided to investigate. We walked in (without a reservation) and got a table quite quickly. They were busy and got busier as the night progressed. The menus and specials were both varied and interesting. I chose to have a fish night and had the 'Smoked Fish Platter' and the 'Grilled Sea Bass fillet' both were well presented and the were well cooked. The smoked eel from Pinneys in Orford was really nice. Everthing seemed freshly prepared and good value too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJThatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

1st time here and suitably impressed. Went a Sat eve with five others, a table booked for 8pm.

It was busy, but tables well spaced out and staff very efficient at drinks and food alike.

Menu doesn't have a massive selection but enough to make deciding difficult!

We all had different things and were all very pleased with the food quality and the size of the portions.....at a reasonable price also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing