We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch”

The Froize Freehouse Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 95 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: David Grimwood's delightful Free-house Restaurant, serving delicious rustic food in a rather charming, slightly old fashioned way!
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our first and definitely NOT our last visit to this country restaurant/pub. We were booked for 12.00 and can quite understand why. The place filled up very quickly with many of the diners obviously regular visitors. Food delivery was very different with all main dishes served "carvery style" whether it was curry or roast rib of beef. I defy anyone not to find at least 2 or 3 dishes that they would want to eat. Vegetables were cooked fresh and constantly being "topped up". Sweets were excellent and generous in size so all in all an excellent meal and very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spicey1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review - great to see you and hope to see you back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 289 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Now my husband could not be dragged kicking and screaming into a carvery so whilst the main dishes are served by David the owner who is a very friendly guy I would just not describe this as a carvery. Proper good tasting food with no fancy dots or scrapes of coloured puree to be seen.
My husband had the partridge to start which was lovely and then the roast pork which has now spoilt him forever with a taste of the Deviled Kidneys. I had the lamb chops with pearl barley which just melted, David even tells to not to be afraid to pick up the bones.
The upside down ginger pudding with ice cream to finish which we shared.
David and his staff were all very good with nothing being too much trouble, looking forward to our next visit to the area we may just have to arrange soemething sooner to justify the 3.5 hr journey

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank potter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Our motto could be 'Real Food for Real People' It was a pleasure to meet you and serve you with our lovely food - Hope to see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Froize is an acquired taste, This was our first visit based on a couple of recommendations from people we know living nearby. The food and the range good but we were perplexed by the "hot buffet" style delivery and wondered how long the food had been sitting on a hot plate for. We rather like our food cooked freshly and to order - the starter (pan fried partridge with parsnip) was freshly cooked and was divine. The devilled kidneys showed that they had been sitting on a hot plate for some time as did the baked salmon. Its a shame because the chap who does the cooking really knows about flavours and his enormous skills could be so better showcased if the hot plate was abandoned. The atmosphere was a bit leaden - a third full restaurant with muted whispers. We will try this place again when we are next in the area and see how it shapes up for lunch. It is certainly a good experience - I just feel it could be so much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

What we do doesn't suit everyone - but, that's true of all restaurants...that's what makes it fun to eat in different places. Our 'hay-box' style of serving main courses is well suited for the type of dish we put on the menu...and people love it! - So come again and embrace all the provenance and flavour of our wonderful Suffolk food - You will be most welcome...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Ànother amazing meal at the Froize as usual try the finger lickin partridge..lush!! Booked for Christmas can not wait! Thanks David, Louise and all the lovely staff!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Always a pleasure to see you and the family Sarah...yes, the finger lickin' partridge legs have been a huge success!! - See you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently had Sunday lunch at the Froize. The selection of dishes was amazing and we were all encouraged to try more than one. All were very tasty. I tried the stuffed chicken breast and the mushroom stroganov and they were lovely. The choice of desserts was equally as good. We all left having enjoyed a good meal with friendly service. Will definitely bring friends and family back here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thanks for your review - it was a delight to meet you and serve you...see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Froize Freehouse Restaurant also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Froize Freehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing