We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food - unusual experience”

The Froize Freehouse Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 95 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: David Grimwood's delightful Free-house Restaurant, serving delicious rustic food in a rather charming, slightly old fashioned way!
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Quality of the food was very impressive as was the menu selection and choice for the mains. One of the lovely things was the locally sourced food and ingredients used in the meals - cod from Suffolk, gressingham duck and local Blythborough pork, this was lovely to see and great that the local quality foods are being used.
The starters - these were again very good, and nicely presented.

The only odd point about this restaurant was the way the mains are served; if you like buffet then this place is ideal, however a reason I may not return is due to the buffet culture of the restaurant. We didn't dine until late in the evening and therefore food had dried out rather a lot. Additionally it make the meal somewhat informal for the special occasion we were celebrating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thanks for your honest review. When people 'get' what we do then they realise how important the provenance of all our food is... Just a shame that on your visit everyone ate early and departed (it happens) We don't normally struggle for atmosphere! Would love to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 289 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

A bit of a family favourite, and chosen recently for a major milestone Birthday celebration, the food is always delicious, the staff friendly and helpful and the Chef is hospitality personified. The buffet lunch is one of the best I have tried, with a wide selection of excellent dishes to choose from (not that you have to choose just one!). The Froize never disappoints!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Always good to see you - thanks for the super review...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have been twice to the Froize and each time have been delighted by the food. Last Saturday we visited despite the blizzards. The food was excellent..it is so nice to see a hot buffet..you can spend ages agonising between dishes and then a solution was offered I could have a slice of pork as well as the lamb. The staff know how to tempt you here. The vegetables were crunchy and there were seven..you can serve yourself and so have many as you wish. This time I did manage to get to the pudding course..wicked and luscious! I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jambomagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wood Pigeon pie, curry,guinea fowl and duck.......oh and also fabulous roast.....where else can you go to satify a true blue for Sunday lunch!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard190646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Super Blues fans always welcome!! Thanks...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have eaten here many times and also had some great family parties with many happy memories. The staff are kind friendly and efficient and the food is great. Always try to leave room for the lovely puddings. The Froize is a firm family favourite for all of us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Froizeland, Owner at The Froize Freehouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we love a party and we are always pleased to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Froize Freehouse Restaurant also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Froize Freehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing