We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sunday lunch”

The Froize Freehouse Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: David Grimwood's delightful Free-house Restaurant, serving delicious rustic food in a rather charming, slightly old fashioned way!
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

How refreshing to find somewhere with excellent food, friendly and helpful staff in a lovely setting. We dropped by around 1:30pm without booking, and luckily given a table immediately.
Although it was not the start of service there was still plenty of choice. The food quality was excellent, and our roast beef and lamb shanks were superb. Followed by sherry trifle and damson ice cream, this was a most memorable meal. An experience which we will certainly repeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    40
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good locally sourced food”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Called in for Sunday lunch, on our way to Aldeburgh. It is a very good carvery/hot buffet, with imaginative food. Stuffed quail, Devilled Kidneys, glorious rare roast beef and many more dishes. A good selection of vegetables, home grown, and very friendly service from David the Chef and his team. It has been consistently good for Sunday lunch over many years. We have not visited in the evening as we live a fair way away, when I believe that it they are open Thursday to Saturdays. Good honest British food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amberlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best meal ever!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited this restaurant by sheer luck as we were homeward bound and I remembered having been when it was a pub about 8 years ago or so. We booked over the phone as we were going there and arrived about half an hour late but they were still very friendly. It is quite small very homely but intimate. The menu is quite small with one price each for any starter, mains or dessert. But the food is wonderful, all cooked fresh, the fruit and vegetables as much as they can be are seasonal and home grown in the allotment, everything else locally sourced! My husband has never eaten a dessert that didn't have chocolate in it but he chose the gooseberry and elderflower jelly and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have never had such posh jelly and icecream! The service was excellent, just enough fussing not too much, the beer (Adnams) was very well kept. There is nothing we could say against it luckily it is slightly too far to visit too often!
The reason for the 5 stars in particular was that my husband is visually impaired and had his Guide Dog Inca with us and we had not mentioned this when we booked. The staff did not bat an eyelid or even falter when all 3 of us walked to our table, it was a joy to have Inca so totally made at home that we could enjoy our meal without having to worry if we were upsetting anyone. A big thank you to all the Froize staff and to David who we met for commenting on how lovely the dog was!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mawkinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great walk”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Quality food. Not cheap but good. Nice place for a meal after a walk along the beautiful Butley river (reed beds and interesting geology)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Froize”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent home reared meats cooked to perfection, with David's carving
you get just the piece you want - very rare or well done! Lovely selection of puddings all served by friendly staff.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Froize Freehouse Restaurant also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Froize Freehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing