We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really lovely gastro pub”

The Dennington Queen
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a really lovely gastro pub”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I enjoyed a lovely dinner here over the May bank holiday weekend. Booking was important, but I could pretty much choose a time to dine. The two dining areas were large, but the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Excellent young serving staff; they really knew their stuff re wine suggestions and helpfulness generally. Top marks, too, for the food which, although slow to emerge, was interesting, delicious and worth waiting for. Yes, I thoroughy recommend the Queen and would return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnClarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    41
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most outstanding country pub and restaraunt”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Dennington Queen on 2 separate occasions for dinner whilst staying for a short break in the local area. The food, beer and wine and the service were all superb and exceeded all expectations. The standard by which all competitors should be judged. Worth buying the house for sale on the green just to be able to visit the best pub in the area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch was ok.............”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I visited the Dennington Queen for lunch with a family member last week. I had the chicken goujons which didnt have much flavour and a blue cheese dip which didnt taste much of blue cheese. My pudding was much nicer. Ginger sponge with a lemon sherbert ice cream. The lunch was ok. Nothing spectacular. I was somewhat disapointed as friends who have eaten there before have raved about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsj1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Country Pub”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped in here at lunchtime on our way to the coast for a Saturday outing. Although quiet for a Saturday lunchtime there were a few other customers around. We all (me + wife + 14/12 yr old girls) decided to go for ciabattas which were all really enjoyable. They come served on little wooden trays with some salad and parsnip crisps. We also all had chunky chips which were marvellous and a portion of beer battered onion rings which were to die for. Main courses looked very appetising and no doubt we will pay a vist for dinner some time - maybe on way back from another Suffolk coast outing.
Service was very pleasant and we all thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
Definitely recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanShaw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great gastropub in the middle of nowhere. Good imaginative menu, variety and tasty topped off by cosy, country ambience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ox0xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dennington Queen also viewed

Stradbroke, Suffolk
 
Framlingham, Suffolk
 
Framlingham, Suffolk
 

Been to The Dennington Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing