We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, nice food”

Duke of York public house
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke of York public house is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Duke of York in Woodbridge is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Lawford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice staff, nice food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant lunch with relatives here. There was plenty of choice with a main menu, fixed menu and specials and staff were welcoming. The food was well cooked and presented. Although the portions did seem a little small this was ideal for my relatives and they enjoyed what they had.
There seemed to be a lack of waiting staff and service was a bit slow but overall we felt well looked after. The summer pudding I had was excellent. The bill seemed a bit on the high side for the size of the meal but there was no complaints on quality and we will return

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mammamaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    119
    78
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“birthday Lunch - Food Poor”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been to this Pub before and been to Vintage Inns elsewhere too and food always very good but on this occasion the food was very poor, below standard, my partner ordered the Burger well a burger from McDonalds would have looked 100% more appetising. Whether the Kitchen staff were exhausted from the Sunday and Fathers Day not sure but will certainly think twice before going back.
Emailed pub with concern over meal had NO reply which shows the concern they have over customer service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing yet again”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Came here once again and unfortunately let down by the food. Its such a shame because from the outside the pub looks lovely and same with the inside. Staff are very slow and not attentive whatsoever and the food really needs to improve.

Unfortunately i will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillpott467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very enjoyable experience. Good menu, good price for the lunch time deal.
Very good service. Well patronised with mixed age groups, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last chance blown”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not used The Duke of York for awhile now after some awful food, but we decided to give it ago today on our way home from Tunstall Forest, we popped in just after 12.00 so lunch time was only just starting, we had to wait over 45 min.. For haddock, chips and Fishcakes to turn up. Haddock and chips were not bad golden crispy batter. Shame the same could not be said about the tasteless, lack of fish and very greasy fish cakes and as for the sweet potatoes being stone cold. We have now decided to call it a day, and we be spending our weekend in The kings Head and The Cherry tree along with a few other eateries in Woodbridge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve-manser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of York public house also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Duke of York public house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing