We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better mid-week!”

Duke of York public house
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke of York public house is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Duke of York in Woodbridge is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Hadleigh, Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Much better mid-week!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have enjoyed this Vintage-Inn several times before but this is the first time we've been for a mid-week lunch. Much nicer! Plenty of room in the car park, choice of table, relaxed service, good menu. We just had a main course from the daily specials - slow-cooked lamb shoulder with mash and lovely vegetables, plus a pint each (Shandy for Wendy). £33:50 all up. Very pleased with that! There was also a good looking fixed-price menu. The lasses were very good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    119
    78
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Get Together”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a bi-annual mid-week get together with eight female former colleagues. We met at The Duke of York (still sometimes still referred to as The Seal) as there is ample parking, a reasonable priced menu with something to suit all tastes and all pockets too, plus a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. As usual it didn't disappoint, we also had the added bonus of a really helpful and friendly waitress too. We had a good evening, everyone was happy with their meal, which was not 'gourmet', but certainly most enjoyable. Service was good, but being mid-week the restaurant was not overly busy. Certainly an excellent choice of venue for us all to catch up around a good sized table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place with good service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had been here before before it changed hands when it was the Seal,
We came here for a family meal after reserving a table and was seated straight away. We had to wait half an hour for our food which wasn't too bad, we were brought our drinks we ordered and my nephew spilt his drink, the manager quickly got something to mop up with and got him another drink which I thought was nice.
The meal was lovely but could of done with a tiny bit more, I had the hunters chicken, the desert was lovely as well, I had the giant proffiter rolls.
The only thing I wasn't keen on was the way of serving the sauces where they bring them to your table and you use what you want then they take them back again, it's a bit awkward when you want more condiments half way through your meal and have to call someone back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge uk
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average food, average price.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Often visit Duke of York. Never actually had a bad meal, food therefore generally good to average. Brie starter was a disappointment, scallops were tasteless. Most of us had the burger which was good except for soggy, dull buns. Fish pie was very good, gammon was also good. None of us were inspired by the dessert menu.
Waitress service is a big improvement on their old system. Waitresses were unsmiling and seemed bored but level of service ok.
Cosy setting, comfortable seating. They seemed to have no record of our booking but no problem getting in even for 6 of us on a busy Saturday evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average food, poor customer service”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited when quiet as I know it can get busy.

Started well, good greeting, chose table, got drinks and ordered food.

Main was ok, though,ashes potato a bit "school dinner" like - neither of my children would eat it.

Steak a bit over done.

No one ever came over to check we were happy with our meal.

Ordered the "apple, blackberry and loganberry crumble" for desert. Turned out it was "apple and gooseberry" which isn't even on the menu. When we eventually found a member of staff to mention this to they said "strange it was as per the menu last night, I'll check" and never returned.

We eventually went to bar to pay, again were not asked if everything was ok, so with two restless kids paid up and left.

Overall, the food was good, but let down by the attention to detail and customer service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of York public house also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Duke of York public house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing