We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, even for non-golfers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My brother and I recently took our elderly parents to the Ufford Park. We can't speak highly enough of it. The hotel is contemporary and quietly bustling, rooms are clean and comfortable, brekky is a lovely hot and cold buffet, grounds are pretty and well manicured. The thing that really made our stay, though, was the attentiveness of the staff. I requested ground floor rooms for my elderly parents, which the reception staff were happy to arrange: my father was poorly one evening and the restaurant staff sorted out some crackers and water for him, we used the bar for drinks and light meals and again, the staff were most accommodating. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Josephine
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with your elderly parents. We were delighted to read that you found all our facilities of excellent quality and in particular our staff attentive and helpful throughout your stay.
We very look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope your father is now feeling much better.

Kind wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was excellent.

We had a room with a balcony and well worth it. We found the staff were friendly and food excellent. The room was immaculate and had all the amenities you would wish for in a room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDColwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we were thrilled to read that you found every part of your stay excellent including our staff, the quality of the food and the cleanliness of your bedroom.

We very much hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Due to a power cut at our own hotel we elected, under positive recommendation, to go to the restaurant at Ufford Park for dinner (4 persons) on 17th July 2013.
The atmosphere was non existent, we were sat in a large room in an american diner style booth with less cheer than a Leonard Cohen concert. The waitress whilst attentive was working hard to fight a losing battle with poor surroundings, bad wine and low grade pub style food. The menu sounded uninspired but had a number of dishes that had potential. The style of seating made it difficult for the waitress to serve comfortably with much leaning over people to clear plates, serve and pour wine. About 25% of the wine poured went down the outside of the glass and was then passed dripping along the table. Following a tasting we sent back the carafe of Shiraz as low grade and definitely not quaffable.
A replacement G&T was ordered. A few minutes later we were asked to repeat the order which arrived a short while later with little ice and no lemon. And this was the hottest day of the year!
Starters were poor, 70's pub style, with little of the actual described product but plenty of unimaginative salad.
The main courses were substantial and rustic. The description of the food on the menu compared to what arrived didn't entirely match. Nevertheless my dining companions said that the flavours were satisfactory. On a plus side, the chips were big and chunky and crispy but the onion rings were greasy and oily as were the mushrooms.
It was commented on that the green beans on one plate tasted fishy (this was a duck main) as if they had been cut on a board or with a knife previously used for fish preparation.
The deserts were poor. Summer pudding turned out to be two disks of rolled out white bread with a berry compote / pie filling placed between and over the bread. Cream described as Chantilly was no more french than William the Conqueror. The chocolate tart was deemed acceptable but tis along with many of the dishes served for starter and desert courses had been liberally coated in thick over sweet sauces, similar to those found in shop bought squeezy bottles.
Once the couple in the booth behind us had finished dinner a waitress moved in to clean the table. It was like being in a McDonalds with over enthusiastic use of the spray cleaner which covered our entire table with the overwhelming odour of cleaning fluids. It was so invasive that my wife mentioned it to our waitress who had a word with the other.
A short while later during our dessert course the diners on the other side of our booth also left. Again the waitress arrived and liberally sprayed copious amounts of cleaning fluids around. Once although poor, is forgivable. Twice is just the pits of customer service.
Had I of wanted to eat in a fast food diner with all the attendant experiences, I would have done so. What I actually wanted was a reasonable meal in pleasant surroundings. This was neither.
We had been seriously considering a stay at the hotel to play the golf course. Based on what we experienced last night we will stay and eat elsewhere and play the course as a day visitor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Cris
Thank you for your review despite it being very disappointing reading - we are sorry that your experience in our restaurant was not a good one from your point of view - of course we are surprised because we do normally get very good feedback for both the quality and value for money of our dinners and breakfasts. We fully appreciate the room needs updating but this is in hand as is all the public areas within the hotel.
We really hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that we are worth staying at in the future and not just to visit for a days golf.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

a last minute short break and very pleased to say the hotel lived up to previous reviews. We paid a little more for a superior room which had a little balcony and overlooked the golf course. The grounds are immaculate and its obviously a very popular golf course. We took advantage of the spa facilities and had a very relaxing morning. We invited friends to dine with us one evening and the food was superb with excellent service from very friendly staff. Breakfasts are served buffet style and there is plenty for everybody. It is ideally situated for travelling to the Suffolk Coast or the Essex coast (I would recommend the former) or for visiting Constable country.

The room was spacious and very clean although the decor was perhaps a little dated but as we spent only a short while in there it was unimportant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsprinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent short break - we were delighted to read that you felt we lived up to our previous positive reviews and our facilities were clean, well cared for and our food top quality.
We do in fact promote ourselves as being perfectly located in the heart of Suffolk to be the ideal base to explore the coastline and other historic attractions from, so were pleased to see that that was why you stayed with us. We also hope the friends you invited to dine with you also felt our restaurant was good enough quality and value to come back to again.

We very much hope to welcome you back again next time you are in the area.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I can't wait to post this review it was so spectacular! Check in staff wonderful so welcoming and helpful . Went up to our room wow first thing we noticed how spotless and fresh smelling it was. Then the view amazing . We then went to the bar to have a snack and a drink couldn't believe how reasonable the prices were and the choice was also great. The staff in the bar so polite. food delishes. The breakfast was wonderful and one paticular lady think it was the manager of the dinning room went to so much trouble on our last day to cook our breakfast fresh as I didnt realize breakfast finished at 930 wonderful service. Next stop the spa had a massage best one I have ever had liked that the lady did not chat and made me feel relaxed. Also used the spa really enjoyed it. I would like to mention that the lady that brought me a iron was so lovely and smiley but then I did notice that this is the most friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in all staff were so nice. This hotel should be at least 4* if not more. Really had a fantastic 3 day stay thankyou a very well run hotel. J roberts room 204/205

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joan17666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Joan
What can we say - what a wonderful review thank you so much - we are enormously proud of all our staff and their positive & helpful attitudes towards all our guests. We will certainly pass on your high praise to every department you mentioned including the behind the scenes housekeeping and kitchen teams.
We also greatly appreciated the fact that you not only felt we should be a 4 star hotel but that we are superb value for money too.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future when we are confident you will receive the same top quality treatment.

Kind regards,
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed as part of a golf society. Had a really good stay. Golf course was very nice and the hotel clean and well presented. The carvery dinner was excellent as was the breakfast - possibly the best food i have had in this style/category of hotel. Above all else possible the friendliest group of hotel staff that i have ever dealt with! Everyone was friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Only slight downsides is that i felt that the beds were a little small (stayed in a twin but to be fair it is a long time since i have slept in a single!) and no Sky Sports in the bar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. We were delighted to read that during your golfing break at Ufford Park you found us to be ''possible the friendliest group of hotel staff that i have ever dealt with'' and that your breakfast & dinner were also exceptional - we will pass on this high praise to all our staff thank you. Sorry about the size of the single beds but they are standard sizes, perhaps next time it would be worthwhile upgrading to a double bed? You also mentioned we had no sky sports in the bar - this is technically correct but we do instead have a different provider than Sky which in fact offers an equally wide choice of sports but still includes all the major matches. Next time please speak to any member of staff in the bar and they should be able to find the sport you require.

We very much hope to welcome you back again soon. With a top winter course we are lucky to be able to offer golfing breaks all year round.

Best wishes
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel to be near a family event. Didn't use any of the hotel spa or golf facilities but had a room overlooking the golf course which was very lovely. receptionists seemed very pleasant. The only thing I found was that the bed was incredibly hard other than that, very good.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the golf course if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolMartin444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingD, Public Relations Manager at Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Carol

Thank you for your great review regarding your recent stay with us. Hopefully next time you visit friends in the area you will get time to experience some of our on-site facilities too, but glad you found both your room and our staff excellent. We were sorry to hear that you found the bed a little hard though - this is always a difficult one as it is such a personal thing but rest assured we do regularly carry out bed surveys and replace our beds when necessary as it is essential that our guests get a good nights sleep.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Tarnia Robertson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
8.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
3.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,039 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
353 reviews
23.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Woodbridge Hotel Ufford Park, Woodbridge IP12 1QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range: $93 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa is set in 120 acres of historic parkland less than 12 miles from Ipswich town centre and is therefore the perfect affordable destination for Spa, Leisure & Golf Breaks. Either as a couple, a group or as a family - With golf course, swimming pool & gym, thermal Suite Spa, bar & restaurant it is an excellent family owned and run modern hotel. Friendly helpful staff and fantastic views. Children & Pets welcomed. Open all year round - great Winter Break options. Top Winter golf course. 4 Star Luxury Spa. Ample free parking & Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Ufford Park Hotel, Golf Hotel Woodbridge
Best Western Woodbridge
Woodbridge Best Western
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing