We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband celebrated his 80th birthday at Seckford Hall with a dinner for 36 friends and family. What an evening it was! The meal was superb with roast leg of lamb cooked to perfection and the fruit salad was the best we have ever seen; the staff were attentive and looked after us very well. We have enjoyed several lunches in the newly refurbished dining room. Again, the food is excellent and well presented. The dining room has a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere and, unlike so many restaurants, the tables are well spaced out. Unlike earlier reviewers, I must say that I like the dining room and feel that the refurbishment has been done tastefully with a mixture of the 'old' and the 'new'. Above all, the staff are very willing and anxious to please.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolkgolfer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    252
    141
    83
    47
See reviews for
184
436
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Although I have used Seckford Hall for lunch and dinner before I had never stayed there so decided to have a Sunday night break. Booked the Seckford Room which had 4 poster bed and spa bath. Room was good and well furnished but bathroom fittings could usefully be upgraded.Excellent dinner where the service was very good and friendly. The champagne cocktail bar which was a key part of the refurbishment of the hotel appears to have been closed . Catered well for us as we both need gluten free food. Breakfast was also good with a wide choice and all freshly cooked. Only 2 criticisms. Firstly Wifi was intermittent and slow. Secondly when checking out the deal I had agreed when booking hadn't been recorded and the bill was £100 more than it should have been.Sorted out effectively but it shouldn't really have happened.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a review of the restaurant only.
I brought my mother, who lives locally, to the restaurant 3 years ago. She enjoyed it so much I have wanted to take her back ever since. As my daughter was in the country and her partner was able to come down to Suffolk as well I thought this was an excellent excuse.
I booked a table rather late, Thursday for a meal on Saturday but my booking was agreed.
We turned up the exterior is as amazing as it ever was. However, when you enter things are not as pleasant any more.
The old reception, on the left as you used to enter the main door is now boarded up. So we made our way through to the old maître d desk, which is still in it's old position but you now have to walk through an office which appears to be the reception desk!
Staff were aware of our booking but as we had arrived early, deliberately for pre lunch drink, this seemed to put out waiting staff.
One point in relation to the small bar area whichever way you come at it there are steep steps to reach it, so my mother had to be helped by my daughter's very willing partner.
The barman was less than friendly but was efficient.
When it came time to go to our table I have to agree with other reviewers that the redecoration and table settings/linen is not what it used to be.
Our order consisted of three mains and a starter as a main. It was made clear that we wanted it as a main when our order was taken. However, it arrived before everyone else's and to be fair the maître d seemed to spot this and it was taken away. The thing with that was it was a soufflé!
Further the vegetarian options, two out of our party of 4 are veggies are not only limited but showed no imagination. Vegetable tart and risotto, when will chef's cotton on that because we choose not to eat meat or fish we would still like an imaginative meal.
The mains were OK but not up to the old standard.
Desserts were the best part and my daughters cheese plate was by far the best thing we had.
We decided to adjourn to the lounge for coffee. This has under gone probably the worst makeover. A horrible stripped carpet and a new bar with nothing on the shelves and glass panels on the front so your reflected while you sit and try to enjoy your coffee. This seems to be a work in progress but has spoilt one of the best assets of the hotel.
I am sure that people who did not know the old days will think this nice but for those of us who remember how it used to be it is a shame.
For her next birthday I will take mum somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

A stunning period building converted into a contemporary modern hotel! Lots of character, great service & beautiful food!
I got a great room rate also, albeit it was a corporate rate.

...I just wish they'd sort out their v flakey wi-fi - it's the only thing that let's it down!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have used Seckford Hall over many years to meet up at lunch time with friends,usually approximately 9 to16 of us. My wife and I booked for lunch for 12 guests. Unfortunately 3 of our party could not make it because of illness. I politely phoned to advise of the change in nos, to be told they could not find the original booking. I also reminded the receptionist that we needed a a window table as my wife is partially sighted. Having had our pre lunch drinks we were shown to our table which was found to be in the darkest place in the restaurant! My wife objected and pointed to the round table by the window and was told this was reserved for afternoon tea at 3pm. Reluctantly they reset the table for us for our lunch at the table by the window. The meal was very average. The change from our previous experiences were noted! namely, no crisp white table cloths, just dark wipe clean cafe style tables and floor covering. The service was also slow,with a lack of visible staff. My wife spoke to a receptionist on leaving and asked why bread/ bread roll / melba toast was not offered at the start of the lunch only to be told " you can purchase it madam its on the menu" When you consider the prices have all gone up since the change of ownership, will they be charging for a jug of water next!
The Hotel has been altered internally to the detriment of the previous ambiance of its former self.
This Hotel has always been a favorite of locals and visitors from afar, but alas we feel not any more. We have never stayed at this Hotel. It is a shame we cannot speak to the owners.We were told by the receptionist that owners are anonymous

bry891

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A beautiful hotel in lovely gardens. The staff were very helpful. We used the hotel as a base for a wedding nearby. They helped with all our needs including arranging transport. We couldn't eat in the restaurant but when we arrived back it was very busy always a good sign. We had breakfast which they offered a good range of buffet food and the full English was generous and delicious. Loved it would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We took a two night break here on a DB&B basis. This included a "contribution" to the cost of dinner. Not clear why they do this because the food, whilst good, was fairly ordinary.
Reception was efficient, they said we'd been upgraded but we actually got what we paid for. The Courtyard room was big, clean and had a good bathroom with an excellent shower. It was quiet and well worth being fifty yards from the main building to avoid the noise that can affect this sort of hotel when large parties are present. Bar and restaurant service was attentive and the meals satisfactory and of quite a good size. The plated Breakfast was adequate and tasty and additional servings of tea, toast etc available if needed. The one negative was the service when we took the afternoon tea which was included in the price. There seemed to be an assumption that everyone had the same and no choice was offered (until we asked!). Otherwise a good experience.

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard if you want to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitch1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing