We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful young staff group”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Market Bosworth, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful young staff group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Seckford Hall is a lovely looking tudor building with sensitively added on extensions set in parkland with a lake. There is a separate building containing a leisure centre, free to residents, with a small swimming pool, jacuzzi and spa area. Adjoining this is what might have been the old stable block containing some two roomed suites.
We were a group aged between 70 and 2 and were made very welcome on a weekend stay. Despite being a rather upmarket costing and looking place, the young staff group made our stay a delight. Because the staff are so accommodating, civil and helpful, we felt very comfortable. Any requests we made were met in a non-fussy way.
We were in a number of different rooms, all of which were adequate, including those in which we had requested extra beds for the young kids. The quoted rates are room only but if you add on an extra £11 or so per person, that gives you the bed and breakfast rate. Kids get breakfast for about £6. The breakfasts were very good.
The dining room is spacious and well presented, with a variety of table sizes, and a staff very happy to aggregate tables to fit larger groups. The quality of the food at dinner varied between good to excellent and cost about £35 for three courses. There is also a good early evening (6.30pm) menu for kids for a good value £10 per head. The menu was quite limited, a good thing. The wines had the usual approx 300% corkage. But again the delight was that the staff were smiley, unfussy, good fun and helpful.
There is a cosy bar off the dining room, and a cocktail bar. The bar had one Adnams draught beer on but apart from that the pumps served a variety of fizzies, lagers and cider.
Places like this can be inhabited by snooty and intimidating staff. At Seckford Hall the opposite is true.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
What a pleasure it is to read your review of your stay with us here at Seckford Hall Hotel. We have made a concerted effort to welcome family groups offering different dining times and options through out the Hotel - it is lovely to read that you were able to take advantage of this during your stay.
You mention the Seckford Hall team in terms of their customer service and attitude - it is so encouraging to read your feedback as we do have an energetic, dynamic team who are dedicated to ensuring that the guest experience is surpassed - I am pleased that you commented on this.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review
Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    252
    141
    83
    47
See reviews for
184
437
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

When I stayed at the Seckford Hall a few years ago it was regarded as one of the prime hotels in the area. I'm not sure it can claim to be so now. Foolishly I asked for a single room and I was allocated room 19. The room was in the roof space and cramped, although the bathroom was spacious. There was a step down into the bathroom with the risk of banging your head on the door frame - especially when leaving the bathroom. There was no shower, only a bath with the paper peeling off from the sloping ceiling.

The bed was comfortable but there was dust lying on the flat surface of the standard lamp. This room was not good. My business colleagues with double rooms in the annex had very good spacious rooms with excellent facilities. Whilst we waited for some problem with the booking system to be sorted out during checkout I noticed spider webs on the windows next to the suit of armour. Maybe housekeeping needs to get sorted out. Breakfast and dinner the previous evening was very good indeed. The staff were very helpful and the hall, the panelling and building were good to be in. Having said that I had to stay over in Suffolk another evening and I would have tried to stay there for another night if the room had been acceptable. As it was they lost my business.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genoa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear user Genoa25
Thank you for your recent review of Seckford Hall Hotel. Across the property, we only have 2 single rooms which we recognise are smaller than our standard accommodation with this being reflected in the price that we charge per night in these rooms. We would love you to give us another visit when next in the area, please stipulate at the time of reservation that you would not like a single bedded room.
Thank you for your comments in relation to housekeeping which have been addressed with the housekeeper.
We do hope that you will give Seckford Hall another chance particularly in light of your comments in relation to the food and the building
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had a wonderful overnight stay with friends at Seckford Hall. The building is filled with Tudor character which has been tastefully mixed with an stylish refurbishment in most areas. I especially enjoyed the evening meal at the aptly named "1530" restaurant. The clever lighting and funky furniture create a lovely atmosphere. Furthermore, the food was fabulous and we were served by a very attentive waiter called Adrian. We continued to the the larger cocktail lounge to taste the range of amazing cocktails. Ben, Benjamin, James and head cocktail manager Lee were also very welcoming and attentive to our cocktail needs!! They made the experience fun and enjoyable. We enjoyed finding out about the background stories behind the names of some of the the cocktails. I highly recommend the "Snug"cocktail as a nightcap!
After, we moved onto the smaller bar for coffee. There we met the marvellous Sue who was warm, friendly and very attentive to our needs.
Next morning, we enjoyed a lovely swim in the pool and relaxed in the jacuzzi. This refreshed us for our wonderful breakfast that awaited us. Gluten free toast was provided on request and there was an abundant choice of hot and cold breakfast which was displayed in an effective way.
After this, we went for a walk around the stunning grounds with its magical lake.
I would definitely go back to Seckford with both friends and family trip . It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience with an extremely friendly staff . Most of all, I enjoyed staying in my newly refurbished bedroom which had a beautifully comfortable queen sized bed and a high tech shower. The view of the lake could be thoroughly enjoyed from my bedroom window. What a marvellous stay... can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paullaa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of your Seckford Hall visit and thank you for choosing Seckford Hall as the destination for your 'get away' with friends.
It is lovely that you have mentioned so many of the Seckford team members - I have personally passed on your praise to them.
I do hope to welcome you back to Seckford in the near future.
With warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My friends and I recently booked a meal at Seckford Hall, on arrival we enjoyed cocktails in the newly refurbished bar. The staff were very friendly and recommended some very nice cocktails which we enjoyed sitting by the very inviting Woodburner. Our meal in the 1530 restaurant was lovely and the young waiter was very attentive. The new look of Seckford certainly has the Wow factor. We had a wonderful evening and the staff were welcoming and attentive, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
It is lovely to read your feedback on the new Champagne and Cocktail Bar and 1530 restaurant at Seckford Hall Hotel. The wood burning stove has proved a welcome addition to the Hall as prior to the refurbishment the Hotel did not have a working fire any where in the property.
Thank you for your kind comments
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

After reading alot about the new refurbishment me and my girlfriends decided to go up for a evening of food & cocktails, we were not disappointed. The Hotel is stunning with fantastic grounds & it's very own lake..magical..the food was first class with a service too match,a young waiter called Ben was very helpful and polite, cocktail menu was very impressive,can say we tried a few ;) had a lovely evening and will definitely be visiting again with my family, 5 star!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review; Seckford Hall is proving to be a fantastic destination for meeting with friends for predinner cocktails prior to dining in the lovely 1530 restaurant. Thank you so much for your comments in relation to our food and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Seckford soon
With very best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a lovely stay overnight, a little work still being done on the refurb to the offices near the entrance and a few spare scaffolding pieces round the side of the building but it was still great to see how tastefully things were being done. Many parts still had the feel of the history of the place despite the obvious modernisation that needs to be done. The evening meal was good, maybe not as good as it could have been but it was busy. I felt there was maybe one or two service staff short on the night. The pool / jacuzzi were a tad chilly but again, no real problems. All in all a very pleasant stay and our room overlooking the lawn was spot on!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledall0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Seckford Hall - I am pleased that you like and reference aspects of the refurbishment which are to your liking. I am sorry that on the night in question when you dined that you felt that we were one or two members of staff short for dinner service - I will take your point up with the Restaurant Manager.
We hope to see you again soon here at Seckford Hall
Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Seckford Hall is truly delightful. Our room was extremely well appointed and comfortable, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the general ambience was glorious - like staying in a National Trust property I guess. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the 1530 restaurant. Its not every hotel that boasts a chair once used by a king - and if this were NT you wouldn't be able to sit in it!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterChesham_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
What a lovely post Peter - thank you so much! I am thrilled that you love the new Seckford Hall and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
The team and I thank you for taking the time review our Hotel
Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing