We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find......”
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seckford Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Luton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great find......”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a great find for us and as we had my daughter and her cousin with us, the upgrade to the family room was perfect. Separate from the main hotel, but close to the pool, we had two rooms, lounge, balcony and the girls had their own bathroom! Made for a great weekend......

This is an old building so the floors are uneven, doors creak and there's no TV in the rooms....it's not a modern 5 star hotel but it's clean and pretty comfortable.

I do have to say that the grounds and the hotel looked magnificent but we didn't step inside other than to book in an pay the bill. So sadly I can't comment on the main hotel

We are already talking about returning with an extended family group as we thought it was such a great place.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a family "suite" if you have kids......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
What a lovely review following your stay here with us and great to hear that you are planning a return visit. Make sure you ask for Julie Waters, our Front Office Manager for your future reservation who'll ensure that you get our best available rate.
We look forward to seeing you soon
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    259
    143
    83
    48
See reviews for
191
450
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We would like to say a huge thank you to Mark Suddes and all the staff at Seckford Hall for making our daughter's wedding perfect. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. The event was expertly managed. Fantastic venue, great food and brilliant service from start to finish. And at the end of such a perfect day we collapsed into the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. I think my daughter and I viewed every wedding venue in Suffolk. I now know we absolutely made the right choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Judith
Thank you so much for your lovely review following Alex and Paul's wedding here last week and a sincere thank you for allowing us to host your daughter and new son in-laws big day.
Your guests were lovely so much so that it was great to catch up with some of the party from my native Durham!
I know that we will see more of you at Seckford Hall in the near future
With very best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Seckford Hall has recently been taken over by new management and they went out of their way to make our day as awesome as possible. The grounds were stunning, the food and service amazing and the staff helped us out with everything we needed. The renovation work that is going on was hidden from view and will only enhance the venue no end when complete. Thank you Mark et al. Paul and Alex

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P4ul_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear P4ul
Me and the staff are so pleased you enjoyed and shared your special day here at Seckford Hall hotel and wish you both a long and happy life together. See you again and we can't wait for you to see the rest of the refurbishment once it is completed.
Best wishes, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Woodbridge is a lovely town and the setting for Seckford Hall is magnificent. The layout of the grounds and the way they are maintained is superb. By all accounts, this hotel should be top class but they miss out on a few finer details eg even though the restaurant was 3/4 empty, we had to wait ages for our food. We heard others complaining how they good the food orders all wrong. The weather was really hot and we requested a fan for our room but was told there were none available. Their food supplier arrived at 6am to deliver food and parked his truck right outside our room and was shouting and talking with no regard for guests being disturbed. Some staff were friendly but most were "stuck up" and should not be working in hospitality. Also, the whole place could do with a good clean and spruce up. This place has so much potential, but it seems wasted!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from where the delivery truck offloads!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howards2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel - I am sorry that you found the service delayed in the Restaurant and that a fan wasn't available for you. We do have a dozen fans which are available on a first come first served basis from Reception. Due to the nature of the Hall, we do have an estate style gravel drive which I appreciate can be noisy when windows are open in warm weather.
Our team is trained to provide a personal service to our guests, I am sorry that you felt that we had team members who were 'stuck up'
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review
With kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful setting, magnificent buildings, amazing rooms and exceptional service. The afternoon tea was delicious as was breakfast and dinner. Polite friendly staff. Highly recommended. We had rooms 36 and 39 which were amazing. Spa bath with TV (39) TV built into 4 poster bed (39) lovely little terrace to the rear (upstairs on 36) that was perfect for sitting out in during the evening with the sun beating down. The beds were comfortable. A lovely touch of Seckford Hall dark chocolates in rooms on arrival. This was a pre wedding party where myself and 6 others stayed with the bride the night before her wedding day (at a different location.) To say we were thoroughly spoilt would be an understatement.

Room Tip: Go all out and book room 36!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
What a lovely review and photograph capturing Seckford Hall - I am so pleased that the team looked after your party well before your wedding.
Thank you for your kind comments
Best wishes
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the building and grounds, our room was large & impressive on first inspection but when I went to have a shower before going to dinner I was disgusted with how dirty the bathroom was, it was in need of modernisation which is forgivable but the line of hairs & dead flies in front of the shower was not (see photo) I could not make the shower hot and it trickled out so poorly that I couldn't wash the shampoo out of my hair and had to resort to a cup over the sink all this for £230!! We had dinner in the restaurant although the staff were pleasant they were in need of training and had no knowledge of the menu. We both had soup starters which although nice was a small dribble in a large bowl. I enjoyed my main of Seabass but my husband didn't like his. Desserts were very nice.
After a good night sleep, in the morning we were disappointed to see that the TV didn't work - no signal see photo. I again had a cold shower and had to clean the bath before putting the kids in it. The swimming pool was nice but there was no beauty therapist on site, you had to phone to make an appointment and someone comes out to you - shame nobody answers the phone!
Breakfast staff were less informed then evening staff, we waited 45 mins for breakfast too long when you have kids, but it was nice.
When we checked out we were not given the rate promised on the phone & was fined for not spending over £63 in the restaurant - how disgusting! I mentioned that we weren't happy about the bill and reception just dismissed our complaint saying £230 was a bargain for our 1 night stay and she could work out a new higher bill! I pointed out all the faults in our room and was told 'well you should have said something yesterday'. This hotel is not as good as it thinks it is and is overpriced. We were visiting relatives nearby but will avoid this place on our next visit to Woodbridge. I would not recommend this hotel! Go there for afternoon tea but don't waste money staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear user Jane1977
For the sake of clarity for other readers - your reservation was made on a Sunday retreat rate which is discounted rate conditional on dining in our restaurant with your rate and booking details confirmed via email shortly after the time of reservation.
I am sorry that the meal wasn't to your taste and have spoken to the housekeeper in relation to your room comments. We did try to call you after your departure as the Front Office Manager did mention that she was unable to pacify you at checkout and left a message on your voicemail.
I do hope that you give us another visit when in Woodbridge
With kind regards
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've stayed here many times, each room I've stayed in has had a very comfortable bed, the food is lovely and the service is great, the spa is most relaxing and you get all this in beautiful surroundings , a real treat and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Manager at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of the Hotel - I am so pleased that you continue to enjoy our Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Seckford

With very best wishes

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
985 reviews
1.7 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing