We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Golden experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having been many times to Seckford Hall, we decided to book a lunchtime family get together there for our Golden Wedding Although we were aware of a change of management, we felt the pride of the former management in the hotel would mean standards would be similar. We were not let down. The booking and arrangements were very efficiently handled. On the day the receptionist made us feel welcome and looked after our guests as they arrived. We were given plenty of time to choose from the menu. The meal was excellent, lots of good comments from all. Compliments to the Chef please. The staff were very efficient,unobtrusive and polite. A very happy occasion, many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirlpool2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Seckford Hall Hotel to celebrate your Golden Wedding Anniversary - firstly many congratulations to you both.
It is inevitable with a change in ownership in any business that customers do get wary that changes will affect their expectations - I am thrilled that your fears were unfounded and you had a lovely lunchtime family get together
I'm sure we'll see you again soon at Seckford for your next family gathering
Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    249
    140
    81
    46
See reviews for
180
429
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel set in some lovely grounds.
Stayed in room 17. Disappointed with the lack of a proper shower in the room, only a shower attachement that had to be held on the bath. Head height was also very low due to beams and a pitched roof, anyone over 6ft would of struggled. House keeping could of been improved.
Restaurant was slightly old fashioned with stuffy service but the food was excellent.
Gym/pool area is really nice in a converted barn and the pool was very well heated.

Room Tip: Avoid room 17 if your tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidays_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear user Holidays_soon
I wish I had known you are from Newcastle; being from the North East myself it would have been great to meet you.
I agree, room 17 is not designed for our taller guests and have spoken to the Front Office team to alert guests of this as well as no shower in the bathroom at the time of reservation - thanks for the feedback.
Thank you for your review of our 'Beautiful Hotel'
With best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stopped by today for lunch and it was delicious. Staff are all very friendly and attentive. We ate in the restaurant, which is a lovely setting. I enjoyed steak and ale pie with creamy mash, my husband had pork belly and loved it. Desserts were equally tasty, he had a lovely treacle tart and i plumped for Malibu pannacotta with deep fried coconut ice cream.

Although it was heavy snow outside, we could see how lovely the grounds would be for a walk after lunch.

A lovely lunch, thank you!

Room Tip: n/a as we didnt stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi1739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear user naomi1739
I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch; it is unfortunate that we have a covering of snow just as the daffodils have made an appearance.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Seckford
Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Why no open fires in this wonderful building? We expected this. The restaurant food is poor, and the breakfast very over-priced. Why can't the manager take on board the negative comments, rather than being defensive?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear user LoulouP
Thank you for your recent review of Seckford Hall - unfortunately due to conditions within our insurance policy we can't have open fires in this Grade 2 star listed property. However, as part of our refurbishment plans, we are looking to have a log burning stove in our main lounge.
I am disappointed that you did not like the restaurant food and found our breakfast offering overpriced
Kind regards
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I booked a table for eight in the restaurant at Seckford Hall on 10th March for mothers days not expecting too much as I generally find that service and food is generally disappointing in restaurants on this day due to the huge demand for tables. This however was not the case here. Seckford Hall is a beautiful Elizabethian Mansion surrounded by lovely gardens including a lake. We were met on entering the hotel and asked where we would like to sit for pre dinner drinks and given the choice of the bar or the lounge. Menus were brought to us at while we having our drinks and we were called to the table once our starter was ready. We all found plenty on the menu which was to our taste ranging from fish to roast beef and guinea fowl. The meal came hot and beautifully presented . My daughter who is fourteen wanted to eat off the childrens menu and the hotel had no problem with this. For desert there was a amazing sweet tolley or a hot desert of chocolate brownie and ice cream a firm favourite with us. The mothers in our party received a box of local produced chocolates which were delicious. Afterwards we had coffee and petit fours in the lounge The lounge retains many of its Elizabethian features including its fireplaces.
We would have loved to stroll around the gardens afterwards but unfortunately we didn't have the weather.
Given the service, location and quality of the meal we thought the three course menus was very reasonably priced at £32.50 . We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixstoweSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your splendid review of Mothers Day here at Seckford Hall - your review has captured the full experience that we wished to achieve - thank you for sharing your day with other Tripadvisor users
I am sure that we will see you again soon at Seckford Hall
Kind regards
Mark Suddes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was worried that the grand exterior and perfectly presented function room would translate into a 'stuffy' experience but very pleased with the help and flexibility of the staff who made a two day business workshop buzz along. A very impressive hotel which all my 19 delegates were impressed with. Admittedly there are cheaper hotels but the like for like it boiled down to about £10 per delegate per day difference; which what you consider what Seckford adds makes it great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Matt s
This appears to be our first conference related review on Tripadvisor; thank you for sharing your event details on this forum!
I do hope that you will consider future events at Seckford Hall Hotel
Best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

When we drove up to Seckford Hall Hotel, we were amazed at how beautiful the hotel is. We stayed in a Courtyard Room, because we took out little dog with us. The room was lovely, it was large, with a lounge and kitchen area and a good sized bathroom. The grounds we large and beautiful, we could take our dog anywhere apart from any eating areas. Their is a little restaurant next to the swimming pool, where we had a lovely meal. The price was a bit high for one nights stay with no meals included, but you have to pay for quality. The staff were extremely friendly. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttruslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSuddes, Operations Director at Seckford Hall, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear use ttruslove
Thank you for your recent review from your stay with us in September 2012 - if I can remember properly, September 2012 had lovely weather which would have been great to explore the grounds with your little dog.
We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel soon
With very best wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
20.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
7.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing