We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory
Nearby Hotels
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
$95
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seckford Hall(Woodbridge)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South East Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $172
    $159
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $70
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (115)
    Filter reviews
    115 results
    Traveler rating
    91
    10
    10
    4
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    91
    10
    10
    4
    0
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 115 reviews
    Reviewed December 8, 2013

    Had a great time here with very friendly staff. And two great owners who bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortably as possible. Lovely open fire in the sitting room was a welcome sight on the cold nights And a fantastic cooked breakfast as well. Will be back next year.

    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank glen f
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 1, 2013

    We received a warm welcome and were treated to a superb breakfast from friendly and efficient staff. The two very friendly dogs were an added bonus to the welcome.

    Stayed in the Oak room which turned out to be about the size of a tennis court with a huge, very comfortable bed, large bathroom and a decent sized TV. We wanted for nothing.

    One night was not enough to fully appreciate all that the Old Rectory had to offer, well worth another visit.

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank John S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 3, 2013

    We have stayed at Lilla Cottage for 3 years to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it has always been a wonderful, warm and comfortable place to stay. Beautifully decorated and in a great location, we hope to keep coming back every year.

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Emily L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 1, 2013

    We stayed at Hemlig for one week in October. The weather was wonderful - shorts and T shirts every day. Woodbridge is a beautiful old market town with plenty of quirky shops and wonderful places to eat. The cottage is ideally placed down a small one way street with little or no traffic. Parking is less than a minute away and is £10 for the week. We had to go to Aldburgh to buy our permit as the tourism office in Woodbridge doesn't open on a weekend. A great excuse to go to Aldburgh though! The cottage was clean and very well equipt. The garden is small but ideal for a little dog and alfresco breakfasts. The stairs may be a little tricky for someone a little unstable on their feet, but do add a quirkiness to the cottage. The neighbours were lovely too. It is approx 5 minute walk from the river and the wildlife is wonderful. I strongly recommend sitting on a bench a few hundred yards down the river around dusk and listen to the birds. A memory I'll treasure for a very long time. I would highly recommend Hemlig if you are looking to get off the wheel for a few days.

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank derek g
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 13, 2013

    My husband and I stayed one night at The Old Rectory in the Maple room. Two lovely dogs also live there, it made the place feel even more homely and welcoming.
    Plenty of towels in the bathroom, the bed and linen was very comfortable. Great size room with tea and coffee making facilities, tv and hairdryer.
    There were a few stains on the bedroom sofa. In the bathroom, two small bottles of shampoo but no shower gel.
    The breakfast was the biggest disappointment, we arranged with night before what time we would like breakfast and waited half an hour before it came, luckily we weren't in a rush. Unfortunately, bacon was like eating plastic and the toast was cold and mouldy.

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Funki_chick01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    TheOldRectory1, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

    We were pleased that "Funki_chick01" enjoyed her stay with us, the room, its amenities and welcoming feel. At the same time we were naturally concerned by the comments regarding her breakfast, which usually gets rave reviews and was cooked by the same chef, using our regular and local suppliers of produce. (see earlier reviews below) We do well remember the post-breakfast discussion regarding the toast with its selection of wholemeal,Suffolk Trencher bread made with a variety of seeds including pumpkin and cumin and farmhouse white. When toasted these seeds are a variety of colors, which may perhaps have accounted for "Funki_chick01's comment. We of course do, and did, check that all produce is at its freshness and highest quality, as do our suppliers. We appreciate all feedback however and can now certainly better respond as to the special ingredients in our breads, should we ever receive such a comment again. We are sorry that" Funki_chick01" did also not enjoy our local Award winning bacon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews