We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Woodbridge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed surroundings”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We ate on a Tuesday evening and the restaurant was not too busy. Nice choice of food and service was attentive. Potted mackerel as a starter , Asian spiced lamb was tasty as a main were both tasty.
Atmosphere was relaxed and calm.

Budget for £40pp incl wine for three courses.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapper440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Glad to see that you had an enjoyable meal. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    103
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
37
193
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed in April and got excellent deal for dinner, bed & breakfast. The superior double really was special with a huge, well appointed bathroom. The food really was superb and exceptional value. The only minor niggle was the customer service, not as good as the surroundings and food Poor check in and we had to phone down to find out times for breakfast. However it wouldn't put me off, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 7, superior double, is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2mayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, as the new manager of the business I take your comments on board and really appreciate the feedback. Pleased to hear that overall your experience was a positive one and that you would like to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Crown in March while in town for business. Everything was wonderful. There are so many little details that the staff of this hotel put into each room that truly make this one of the loveliest places I've ever been to. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, Hants
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed in this hotel from Friday 28 February to Monday 3 March 2014. Booked, for B & B, through Booking.com at a very reasonable rate. Made very welcome on arrival and allowed to transfer the Fizzy Friday (meal for 2 and bottle of champagne) deal to Saturday night. Well worth it.
We were in room 5; spacious and very clean and tidy. Tea / coffee tray and bottles of water daily. Yes (see other reviews) Room 5 is above the bar and there was noise from the bar on the Friday and Saturday nights. It is obviously a popular venue. However, the noise was a bit irritating rather than annoying. It stopped at 11:30pm so no real problem.
Cheerful and friendly staff, in the hotel and restaurant, throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boromover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A lone female traveller on business, hotels are important to me. This one lived up to all of my expectations - if not more. Had great service on check-in, my room was delightful - roomy and well appointed and dinner in the restaurant didn't disappoint. I opted for the Taster Menu at £13 - great value for 3 courses. It left me a little peckish, but I think that was more me being greedy! The standard menu left my mouth watering too and when I saw other people's food being served, well it all looked delicious and I had serious food envy. After a good night's sleep I looked forward to breakfast. The choices were fabulous and all cooed to order. Yum! The staff looked after me very well and to be honest, I was sad to leave.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a quiet room and has lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenko862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, England
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a last minute stay at The Crown and found the staff helpful and polite. The room was clean and comfortable but quite basic. The coffee and tea facilities in the room were excellent and the fresh milk in the flask was wonderful. I hate those little uht cartons! Noise from the bar was loud but we had no complaints as it was only until 11:30 then it was lovely and quiet. We slept really well. The food was beautiful and breakfast was amazing. Loved the prunes and apricots in Earl Grey syrup! All in all a lovely stay. My only criticism is that we found it slightly over priced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smamfa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and i had lunch today at 'The Crown Hotel' and found some of the staff lacking in any idea of how to behave in their jobs as waiting and managing!
Discussing rotas at the bar is not professional.
The hotel itself is really lovely,although we felt the reception area for the restaurant is in completely the wrong area and an irritant to the where the customers sit when trying to relax.
The food is fine, but a choice of perhaps two roasts on a Sunday would be beneficial,as i feel it would attract more customers as the restaurant was quite empty,a reflection of a complex menu, with a feel of trying too hard to be something it is not up to!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
995 reviews
7.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
993 reviews
22.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
9.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Property: The Crown at Woodbridge
Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Darran Hazelton showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing