We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect bolt hole.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Woodbridge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect bolt hole.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently returned to the Crown with my husband for our 3rd stay. As always the staff looked after us wonderfully. Our bedroom and bathroom were beautiful and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed 2 fabulous meals in the restaurant. We eat out a lot and The Crown's food never fails to impress and always offers something different. There is an extensive wine list and a large range of wine available by the glass which is refreshing. One of the best things about the Crown is the bar area which in the morning provides a cosy place to enjoy a book and a coffee and is one of the few hotels that i would feel comfortable being a woman visiting on my own. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    101
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
193
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked this as a surprise midweek night away for my partner’s birthday. I booked The Crown based on its reputation from its website and reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed at all. The girl that checked us in on arrival was friendly and efficient. We had Room 1 which is a nice size and tastefully decorated with nice little touches like a cafeteria and fresh milk in a flask. Although it is at the front of the hotel we were not disturbed by any noise. I had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be put in our room for our arrival and even though we were slightly earlier than anticipated the champagne was in the room nicely chilled in a large ice bucket.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening which we thoroughly enjoyed and liked the fact that they were using local produce. We als loved the fact that they deal direct with a New Zealand vineyard as we love New Zealand wines and had a very nice chardonnay to go with our meal.

The Crown was everything I was hoping it would be and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all this hotel lives up to its reputation for good food. The food is EXCELLENT and well priced. We stayed for 3 nights and got a good deal of 2 nights DBB and the third night half price for BB. Majority of staff are very good, friendly and efficient - although one or two need to go for further customer relations training - quickly! We had room nine which is a large room with a large bathroom with excellent water pressure for both hot and cold - and the water is very hot. The problem is that this room is looking tired - stains on the carpet , a contemporary white plastic type lounger that has black scuff marks all over it. Housekeeping needs to be a little more thorough for a hotel of this calibre - room wasn't vacuumed at all during stay and even the towels were left just slung over the bath and towel rail - anywhere else they would have been folded and re-arranged. The taps could do with a bit of Viakal too. Two radiators in bedroom - one didn't work at all - and the other was cold at top and noisy ( obviously needed bleeding) fortunately it wasn't very cold. Okay these are only small issues but they only result as of bad housekeeping and should not be expected of a hotel that is supposedly 4 star. The radiator issue obviously wasn't restricted to our room as we overheard another couple at breakfast complaining of the same issue. We reported this problem so it will be interesting to see if any one else experiences the problem especially as we are now coming into the colder weather.
However this is generally a comfortable hotel. Wine list is very impressive but also expensive - we very few wines around £17-18 - bottle of Pinot Grigio will set you back £24. Also do not bother with the Prosecco that is on tap - my wife had two glasses on seperate occasions. Both were virtually flat - and on the second occasion she mentioned this to the girl behind the bar whose answer was to decant the Prosecco into one glass swirl it around to create some sparkle and then transfer it to another glass!! She is also one of the staff that needed the CR training mentioned earlier. Rooms are very well equipped as mentioned by other visitors and they are very quiet no noise experienced from other guests at all. All in all a good hotel that needs to pay a little more attention to detail - then it would be a first class hotel. Just to confirm again - the food is very very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a night and had dinner in the restaurant. The room was spacious, attractively modern, with a great bathroom and large comfortable bed. The restaurant also lived up to its reputation and was good value. We found the initial reception, from the car park straight into the bar, slightly off-putting, and the check-in process by the young barman (who I understood later was new) a bit off-hand. Unfortunately our stay coincided with that of a badly behaved foursome who were very noisy late into the night and early hours - a hotel's worst nightmare. I understand that another guest complained to the night porter which brought temporary respite but it is sad that a small group of louts can spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay. We slept OK in the end but another guest had a worse night than we did and I thought that breakfast manager handled his complaint and my endorsement of the just cause very well. So, we will go back to the Crown but in the meantime I hope that the particular group of guests doesn't show up anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 853chasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at The Crown for a night in early June and enjoyed every minute. Room was just at the top of the stairs from the bar but you wouldn't know it - v quiet. Great decor, loved the bathroom with the heated slate floor! Bedroom was lovely too, large with v comfy bed! Arrived mid-evening and the bar was busy but this wasn't an issue for the staff who were all great. Ate in the restaurant, lots of local food on the menu. Had very fresh tasting shell on prawns and a beautifully balanced lamb salad. Room came equipped with a cafetiere for morning coffee - as well as large bottles of still and sparkling water. Hotel is v central, couple of mins walk from the water front & station. Lots of parking on site. A great find!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Received a warm welcome, lovely cocktails sat on the patio. Then scallops n Asian chicken salad, to following a beautiful seabass dish, fantastic haddock dish, n a calves liver. Couldn't resist dessert so a cheese board, peanut chocolate tart n a almond mango tart later very full and very happy. Lovely service too!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J88jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Crown and we rate it highly. We stayed in a standard room which was just as nicely furnished as the superior room we stayed in last time, just a bit smaller and with the shower over the bath rather than separate. Very stylish The food here is superb, staff very friendly and helpful, great beer, wine and cocktail list (and prosecco on tap!). There's nothing we don't like at the Crown!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
7.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
2.9 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Woodbridge

Property: The Crown at Woodbridge
Address: Thoroughfare, Woodbridge IP12 1AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown at Woodbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown in Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Situated at the end of the thoroughfare in the heart Woodbridge, we are ideally situated for all of the great things that the town, surrounding countryside and Suffolk coast have to offer. If your passion is walking, sailing, horse riding or you simply have a love of good food and drink, you will find it all at The Crown and nearby area. We are open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Head chef Darran Hazelton showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in our food offering that includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. Our bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails. We also have an extensive and well-balanced wine list that appeals to all tastes and preferences, reflecting our passion for high-quality wine. Long or short, sharp or smooth, there is sure to be a drink to suit your mood. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers, Bentheim. With goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen and underfloor heating with high-quality toiletries and personal touches to match, staying at The Crown is a enchantingly relaxing and satisfying experience. With a laidback and often thriving atmosphere, where traditional meets modern and rural meets cosmopolitan, you are sure to have a unique and highly memorable experience, whatever the occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Woodbridge Hotel Woodbridge
Crown Hotel Woodbridge
The Crown At Woodbridge Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing