We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Ranked #13 of 22 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent one night recently. we had a room outside main hotel, felt rather isolated. But it was a very large room with a decent bathroom. Breakfast was lovely. The Hotel is in a very good location in central Woodbridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patts0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    80
    45
    33
    35
See reviews for
19
107
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed recently for one night and was well received. Old hotel with no lift, so if stairs are an issue either get a lower room or book elsewhere. Room did not keep its poor Wi-Fi signal and needs a booster.There was no light at the small table which made work there impossible until I moved one of the bedside lights to make do: this is a basic detail which should have been sorted by a simple facilities check for each room. Supper was a poor show. The dining room was poorly lit, badly attended and the food was quite tasteless and unattractively presented. Breakfast saved the day as it does with many hotels of this standard, although again the staff needed to be more engaging.I had to pay two bills, one for the room and one for the evening meal: unnecessary.
Would I stay there again? Probably not. The management need to look at their operation to see how they can make it better, seeking independent advice. They need to survive and need to try harder with some gentle direction. Good luck for the future!

Room Tip: Check room allocated and location if you do not like too many steep stairs, however quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in the area for a family wedding and several guests stayed at the same time. The first thing to remember is that this lovely old hotel dates back to the 1600's so there are no lifts and if a lift is important to you then don't stay here. We had a room on the second floor, the stairs are not for the faint hearted but we coped ok. If you have difficulty with mobility book a room on the ground floor. Our room was spacious, and clean. The beds were comfortable with extra pillows available The bathroom was large, with a decent shower over the bath with plenty of hot water. Perhaps a mat in the bath would have been helpful but we used a hand towel. The hospitality tray was not replenished on our second day, neither were our glasses washed but that was a minor blip. The food for our evening dinner and breakfast was excellent. The breakfast was cooked to order and plentiful. You make your own toast which means you can have it hot, or cold, as you like it. However the kitchen serves your eggs on toast if that is how you like it. I noted other people have complained about noisy music from the bar but there was no noise for the two nights we were there. The car park is very small. All the staff were charming and efficient. If in the area again we would certainly be happy to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if any mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night last week as we are looking to buy a house in Woodbridge. I have to sy , what a lovely building, very old and quirky. We stayed in room 2, which was a lovely room, very in keeping with the age of the building. The room was very clean, I loved the way the stairs and rooms are wonky and all different sizes. We did get to look at other rooms, they were all very different, some more modern the others. But we were more than happy with room 2. I did read a review early about room 2, I have to disagree, but each to there own! The bar is great, and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl19840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Quseir
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our bedroom - more of a suite with lots of room, desk, sofa,chairs and large TV (room number 1). The staff were really friendly and helpful and breakfast was particularly delicious. Woodbridge is a delightful and picturesque town. Bull restaurant pleasant and there is also a gourmet restaurant over the square from hotel. Sutton Hoo really interesting and also had great fun at FolkEast festival.

Room Tip: We loved room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFLElQuseir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked in at the bull as we were attending a family members party there. Having a two year old son we thought it would be great to stay over at the same place as the party.
From the minute we had checked in we were greeted by friendly staff, Wendy checked us in and showed us to our room. A very nicely sized chalet style room out in the carpark. Wendy explained that she had given us this room as it would be away from the rest of the party guests so our son wouldn't be disturbed. Which I was impressed by the thoughtfulness!
Breakfast was great too catering for our son and had a high chair set up ready and waiting for us. We went to our party had a great time and I was able to take our son to bed and left my partner partying without having to get taxis or worry about getting back to the hotel. And I was very grateful to Wendy as the room was perfect. We all slept very well!!!
We ate at the restaurant twice during our three day stay, very good selection, nothing too much trouble and literally cooked whatever we asked for our son.

Definitely recommend staying at The Bull Hotel. Absolutely first class!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room provided bore no resemblance to the ones shown on the website.
Small cramped room , last decorated years ago with old cheap pine furniture crammed in and falling apart.
Bathroom was in desperate need of a refurb, and the bedding was poor quality.
AVOID ROOM 2 !!!
Breakfast was a shambles.
Thank goodness our stay was only one night!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Woodbridge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.0 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,007 reviews
7.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
3.9 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn
Cherry Tree Inn
#7 of 22 in Woodbridge
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel - Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel - Woodbridge

Property: Bull Hotel - Woodbridge
Address: Market Hill, Woodbridge IP12 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bull Hotel - Woodbridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bull Hotel - Woodbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel - Woodbridge Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing