We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic" light lunch”
Review of The Galley

The Galley
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Seasonal and local produce prepared fresh and daily with who is passionate about food and drinks. Great friendly caring service and value. Operating one page daily menu. Catering for everyone taste with unusual twist!
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The lunch menu, described as a "Fantastic" light lunch was excellent value and the staff were friendly and genuine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zemzemzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for The Galley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 499 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my wife and mother-in-law for Saturday lunch. We had mixed mezzo starter between the three if us which had 6 home made mezze. Deep fried mussels and pitta bread. Taste was great.

For main we had 2 half lobsters and sea bass. Lobster was the best my wife had ever eaten (compliments to the chef as if was perfectly cooked) and my sea bass had a great twist to it a spicy oriental vegetable side dish.

For pudding we had the SEXY toffee pudding :)

Overall service very good, all waiters very friendly and treat you like part if the family...

Total price was £85 which I thought was very reasonable...

We will be returning very soon...

Thank charliepob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We find it difficult to criticise this excellent restaurant. The service was very friendly and very good. The food was as described on the interesting menus and the price was very reasonable. Look no further.

1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Galley is a 180 mile round trip for us but it was well worth it. We went with my 89 year old mother in law (her birthday treat) and our son for Sunday lunch.
The staff were very helpful and attentive, the owner was especially welcoming and my husband enjoyed discussing the various wines with him.
The menu is varied and interesting, we all tried different dishes and everyone really enjoyed their meal. My mother in law even managed to find room for the delicious (her words) sticky toffee pudding with ginger ice-cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SupplyTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We visit Woodbridge on several occasions each year but never seem to time our visits to coincide with the Galley being open, until this October. Unfortunately, however, we didn't manage to get through the door of the restaurant so are not able to offer any meaningful, comprehensive review. Whilst perusing the menu outside we were hailed by a waiter who obviously saw himself as the Reginald D Hunter of 'table theatre'. Now, what might be amusing when delivered in a club or theatre by the talented Reggie can be just downright rude when directed face to face to a potential customer. With (say) two hours of puerile humour in prospect we decided that Ugur's bottom line could continue to bump along without any contribution from us.

    • Service
8  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan T, Restaurant representative at The Galley, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We are sorry that you chose not to dine with us and if any offence was caused by a member of The Galley’s staff. You haven't made it clear exactly what was said so we can't comment, but we do ask our staff to approach potential customers with a smile on their faces and a welcoming cheerful manner. If you prefer solemn, miserable staff then we agree that you should dine elsewhere!

We are sure that if you made our staff aware that offence had been caused at the time an apology would have been forthcoming and you could have gone on to enjoy a wonderful meal — unless of course your offence was caused by some sort of racial intolerance, in which case we'd rather you didn't dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing