We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50”

Crown at Woodbridge
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown at Woodbridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Crown at Woodbridge offers all that is great about escaping to the country, with all that is good about staying in a wonderful market town. With old fashioned inn keeping in a modern setting, we boast ten magnificent boutique bedrooms, a bustling bar and a real Suffolk food experience. Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, head chef Darran Hazelton showcases all that is great about Suffolk's local produce, reflected in a food offering which includes a mix of rustic and refined dishes, with simple, high-quality ingredients coming alive on the plate. The Crown's bustling cocktail bar serves everything from local beers and ciders to the latest trend cocktails, all alongside an extensive and well-balanced wine list. The upstairs of our historic building has been transformed into luxurious yet affordable bedroom retreats, created by award-winning London based designers Bentheim, with goose-down pillows, crisp cotton bed linen, underfloor heating and high-quality touches to match.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“50/50”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited on Saturday evening for the first time with friends having been recommended. Bar area was busy on arrival and very small lounge / seating area was also full so no where to sit with a drink whilst we waited for a table. Ended up just loitering in the bar area which was mostly a passageway and so in the way for anyone and everyone who wanted to go in or out.

Shown to table and coats were taken. Service was friendly and attentive until after the main course - nice touches such as replacing bottle of water and supplying fresh baked bread whilst we waited for starters. Once we had finished our main course then the staff's attention started to slide and once our puddings had arrived then we were more or less ignored.

Food quality - starters and main courses very good , enjoyed. Puddings a disappointment. No chance to order coffee as all the staff had disappeared and we had to chase someone down to get the bill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barton181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    106
    42
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a more adventurous lunch”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

There are plenty of places to eat.in and around Woodbridge, the Crown is conveniently situated in the centre of the town. The Menu is extensive and interesting if a bit expensive. The fixed price lunch is attractive and good value. The food is very well prepared and presented. Service is cheerful but not always all that attentive. Bar prices are at the top of the expected range. If I need to entertain guests for lunch in Woodbridge I shall go again

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge, we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk,England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful girl's lunch out”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wanted a special celebratory get together lunch out , with group of my foodie friends down from London .Requested to sit at long table in centre of open bar area which was laid out smartly and is a stylish interiors space and always has a buzz- even on a quiet day.
All ordered different dishes, pea and cep risotto, succulent field mushrooms with focaccia, chorizo and a Gorgonzola dressing, sea trout with tarragon and crushed new potatoes and the best , sweetened roasted artichokes I have ever tasted and an amazing Asian salad-fellow foodie critics were wowed by the high level of cooking and presentation at reasonable prices. No puddings as full good coffees but sadly no fresh mint for teas , but pudding list was delicious.

Love the chef's words on the menu - a real passion and respect for local Suffolk suppliers of highest quality. Menu is very seasonal and full of fantastic dishes with twists on classic British, Mediterranean and Asian .
Really, really impressed - only let down was when ordering a bottle of white wine what seemed like a manager just stood there silent as my chum stared at the wine list and even prompted him for help by asking about a dry white , said nothing !! I think a few staff wine teachings are due as really let's down the amazing food . Definitely be back and well done the chef!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BELINDAG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge, we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I made a table reservation for lunch to celebrate my sons birthday. Having told the restaurant it was a birthday celebration and could we have a nice table, I was firstly disappointed when the four of us were shown to a rather cramped table. Oh well, lets not cause a fuss I thought, it is a celebration & the food will be good.

The menu was very muddled. We were give two menus. The smaller one was a fixed price menu (fair enough) but it also had a continuation of the bigger menu on it. I presume that these may have been specials of the day but it certainly wasn't clear. We did take a little while to choose what we fancied to eat as the menus were so confusing.

Having made our choices we were bitterly disappointed when our food arrived. My son & his girlfriend had ordered the spatchcock poussin which was not cheap to say the least. There was hardly any meat on the bird, one of them was undercooked and it was plated in a way which can only be described as pub grub. I think chicken & chips from a pub menu might well have been significantly better. I had a fish dish which was relatively ok but nothing special & my husband had the scallops & pig cheeks. No vegetables offered on this dish & scallops overcooked.

Our waitress did drop by to ask if the food was ok & we said no it wasn't & explained why. She stood there in silence (not sure she understood!, she was not English) so I asked her to pass it on to the chef. I guess she didn't. What is the point of asking if nothing is done when something is wrong?

All in all this meal cost £104 & was not worth half that. My suggestion is DON'T BOTHER visiting this restaurant. There are plenty more in my home county of Suffolk that are a million times better including 3 or 4 in Woodbridge itself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cross with Crown”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived from the back entrance from the car park, and waited at the end of the bar to be taken to our pre booked table, but nobody came. I wondered about and eventually found the reservation area, and a passing waitress told me we would be shown to our table shortly. No welcome from the waitress, and shown to a table for 4 next to an exit. After menus deliverered and deliberated over, one of us ordered the fish pie, but was told by the waitress that it was unavailable. This should have been said when the menu was delivered. Very expensive, and staff have not been trained to welcome guests and advise on food availability. My guests were disappointed with the Crown, and we will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowngarth, General Manager at Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Crown at Woodbridge. We are now operating under new management and hope that you will return and give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown at Woodbridge also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Crown at Woodbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing