We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodbridge Station Guest House
Ranked #9 of 21 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious and comfortable with a bath and shower providing lashings of hot water. The breakfasts in the Whistlestop cafe (part of the guest house) were excellent and the service prompt and friendly. A great place to stay if you are walking or birdwatching in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schoolinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Woodbridge Station Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed for one night with work colleagues, and our booking was very last minute. The staff were very helpful and even got up to make us breakfast an hour earlier than they normaly open. The hotel is located next door to the train station, But we barely noticed the noise of any trains. There are alot of traditional friendly pubs in woodbridge and most are in walking distance of the guest house. Breakfast was nice, only complaint is the size of the bathrooms, they were very small and cramped.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmyodsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed here a couple of months back with my partner and i thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Woodbridge. The room was simple yet had everything i expected and needed it to unlike with some other shall we say more up market hotels, where you don't know what to expect. The staff were pleasant, welcoming and nothing seemed to much trouble. I must say, the full english breakfast served in the cafe area in the morning was one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnny_Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have stayed at the Station Guest House on several occassions whilst on a short break from London. I have always found it to be clean, simple, efficient and unfussy with a great view of the River Deben Estuary from the back double bedroom windows. If you don't mind the odd train passing through the station,( which I don't!), you can get the feeling of being transported back to the early 1950's when there were probably many more similar hotels dotted around the country. The owners and staff are friendly but will hardly bother you during your stay, which is fine as far as I am concerned , much better than some places I've stayed where you feel you are constantly under some aloof scrutiny. You can come and go as you please with no problem. Great breakfast! and some good Birdwatching as well if that's what you're into. I like the place and the location, plus you can board the train at Liverpool St Station in London and step off at Woodbridge in Suffolk and walk up directly into your room. Now, that can't be bad!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a character building and the local press recommend the cafe for it's food and coffee etc. The breakfasts were good.

The problem that we encountered is that to get to the rooms, you had to climb several flights of high stairs, which is not mentioned on the website. There is no lift. When we spoke to the owner/manager about the problems that we were having he was at once defensive and argumentative. We moved to a Novotel nearby and felt much more mobile and safe there.

The rooms at Whistlestop were perfectly clean, but there were dark wood floors with lots of loose rugs, and large, dark wooden furniture. It would seem to be more suitable for backpackers, except the prices wouldn't be affordable to this market.

There was also a lump of the banister on the first corner which, if grasped, came off in your hand.

Quite central in Woodbridge which, in itself, is a lovely town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinch0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn
Cherry Tree Inn
#8 of 21 in Woodbridge
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbridge Station Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbridge Station Guest House

Address: Station Road, Woodbridge IP12 4AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range: $54 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbridge Station Guest House offers quality bed & breakfast accommodation which is a few minutes walk from Woodbridge town centre. We have three light and airy ensuite rooms with stunning views over the River Deben. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodbridge Station Guest House Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing