We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular for the view” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maybush Inn

The Maybush Inn
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Popular for the view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been twice recently to this pub and whilst the view is everything sadly the food us average.
I understand that if you are a fish lover then the fish is very good.
However the meals I have had have been for the carnivore and at times I felt that the meat was not freshly cooked that day.
I think that the staff and management have become complacent with the fact that position will over ride everything,and if the food is not up to scratch never mind the view will compensate.
B.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    250
    100
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My Mother had just recovered from a very bad illness, so we took her out for a treat. The meal was excellent, the staff friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have just had a Sunday lunch here and was very happy with every aspect. The place was very busy but didn't have to wait to long, my advise would be to book ahead if possible. Service was good and the staff friendly. Very large portions so as we had ordered both starters and mains we were unable to eat it all, having said that I'm sure the younger generation would have no problem. Would defiantly eat here again the setting by the river is lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank contentedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Maybush Inn, Waldringfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A very peaceful riverside inn with eating inside and out - on a sunny day the outside should not be missed as there are beautiful river views. Good food and service. A delightful place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T del C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“location isnt everything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

the maybush is always very busy and I can only attribute this to the location which is fantastic in the summer. the food itself is very average and from my experience the menu does not change very often so it isn't exactly seasonal. They cater well for large groups but without the food quality it doesn't really matter. For me the only time to visit the Maybush is in the summer for a cider and maybe a sandwich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfootballbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maybush Inn also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Pin Mill, Chelmondiston
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 

Been to The Maybush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing