We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and chips cooked in fat past its use by date.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maybush Inn

The Maybush Inn
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fish and chips cooked in fat past its use by date.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were dissapointed with our fish and chips on a busy bank holiday Monday, my wife thought the oil/fat that was used to cook the fish had been used too many times and needed replacing.
The drinks got the golden greed award - £1.85 for a small tonic warer and £2.00 for a small orange and lemonade - the orange was clearly out of a carton not a bottle so you expect it to be slight cheaper. My local golf club charge £1.00 for the same drink.
So yes the location is superb but the food and drinks dont live up to the location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    258
    101
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Staff, Great Location, Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited the Maybush for lunch whilst catching up with family and what can I say....

There was seven of us, four adults and three young children.

We walked in and they had table for us straight away, the service was quick and our server was polite and engaging. The children were typical young ones and got bored easily and all the rest of it but it was not a problem. Colouring packs were provided. The food was real food cooked well, definitely worth a visit anytime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a real find - the food is served with very good portion sizes, the views over the river are exceptional and in the winter a real fire to keep you warm. The Adnams is well kept and a very enjoyable pint all in all

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sunday18 August2013. Impromptu lunchtime visit and despite car park full and outside seating almost the same, we found a table for four under the huge blue umbrella on the patio overlooking the Deben.
Accompanied by the locally brewed ale the Sunday roasts were plentiful in quantity, mouthwatering in quality,the three coloured ice cream dessert a splendid finish to a mealtime made even more pleasant by the tranquil and panoramic view of the sailing craft, dinghies and kayaks.
Suffolk is a county truly rich in its coastal and estuary treats,the Maybush is one well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonroncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb location, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We came here for an informal birthday lunch. It was pretty busy but the service was friendly and efficient. The views from the outdoor tables are lovely, situated on the Deben, and being outside our dog was made very welcome. The menu was OK although nothing incredibly original. We found the best things were those on the specials board. The fish was particularly good. What lets the food down are the little things, the frozen chips (rather than freshly made) and the typically standard salad accompaniments, bit of green leaves, bit of tomato, bit of onion, that lacked flavour. But overall we had a lovely lunch and this is just what stops it being excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maybush Inn also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Maybush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing