We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians catered for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Bengal

The Royal Bengal
Ranked #12 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a family run restaurant. The Royal Bengal first opened in 1982 by Mr Malik and his close friends. The dishes we serve have been specially selected. As well as having the classics we also have dishes you may have not come across before. Whether you choose to dine in or order a takeaway,we look forward to serving you.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vegetarians catered for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

After making a trip to Woodbridge we felt like an indian and after looking at the menu's of the towns Indian restaurant we decided to come here in the evening (saturday 26th oct). There were 4 of us and although the restaurant is not the most modern it was welcoming and had a great atmosphere with the restaurant being nearly full. as a vegetarian the menu had a very good selection of goan and the traditional (I was the only vegetarian of the group). My friends ordered a little bit of everything and were all very happy with the meal. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Bluebells87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    51
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a relaxed environment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've just had a lovely meal at the Royal Bengal. Staff really friendly and attentive. I can't handle heat very well and a friend and I decided to have a mix of several chicken and vegetable dishes which were just right. They were colourful and full of flavour.

Really friendly, relaxed atmosphere in this family run restaurant. Will definitely be going again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank burgessal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still the best in Woodbridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although the interior is very dated and badly in need of modernisation and a refit, the food is still the best in town and the nearest to being authentic. Especially good are the mutton or chicken Xacuti which have a lovely dark, rich sauce - ideal for mopping up with naan or chapatis.

They also do a mean kheema - something that most indian restaurants don't do in the UK but is one of the mainstays in many Indian regions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank alinaqvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash a, General Manager at The Royal Bengal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out to give a review. I am glad you enjoyed your meal at The Royal Bengal we hope to see you again in the future. Yes the restaurant is tired and in need of a total makeover. I am glad to tell you that we have been planning for a total refurbishment for a while now and work will be starting very soon in October this year. Although restaurant will be closed for dining in but takeaway and delivery will still be available. We will be opening with a new look restaurant with a fantastic new menu, Hope to see you again very soon ash..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Gave it a go..!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

After recent personal recommendation to visit the Bengal my partner and I visited on a busy Saturday night over the recent August long bank holiday weekend, place was busy but we were able to be accommodated, overall it will not go down as an experience that we will remember, it was a fairly ok meal not something that would want to make you want to return soon as there are other local Indian establishments in the local vicinity that we will give a go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy the Jalfrezi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a mediocre meal here. Everyone wished we had stuck with our usual restaurant, but one member of our party suggested a night out in Woodbridge.

My dish was particularly poor. I had Jalfrezi. There was no sauce to speak of, just grease binding together the meat, veg and chillis. So, no dipping of the Naan, and we all know that's the best bit.

Also, I'm pretty sure that the pictures of the restaurant on the website are actually of a totally different website. Spot the picture which shows a large glass frontage... the Royal Bengal is nothing like this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingleToManningtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ash a, Manager at The Royal Bengal, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi there im sorry to hear that your meal was not well received. Did you mention this to any member of staff that were serving you? we usually go round after the food has been served to make sure each customer is happy and satisfied with what they have ordered. By the sound of your review you did not mention any problem with the meal therefore nothing was done about it. I appreciate that sometimes it can feel a bit awkward complaining, but we will always prefer if something is not satisfactory we will get it sorted asap, and not here about it on tripadvisor. Yes the website was done by previous manager he will be taking it down and a new website for the royal bengal will be put up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Bengal also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Wickham Market, Woodbridge
Bromeswell, Woodbridge
 

Been to The Royal Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing