We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Race Visit”
Review of Wildwood

Wildwood
Ranked #20 of 102 Restaurants in Newmarket
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 30, 2018

The restaurant was very quiet when we arrived at 4.30pm on a very hot sunny day. We were offered a table away from the hot sunny windows which I thought was great. However, my partner decided it was too dark and wanted a window seat. I let him sit on the sunny side, bit like a greenhouse. His fault he got too hot. But I would suggest they invest in some blinds or tinted windows. I know we don't get weather like this all the time but on an average summers day it will get hot by a large window.

We enjoyed our food, very large starter to share and we both had pasta for our main. Service was good, and I would happily return to try some other dishes.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PoppyKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Eating at Wild Wood is wonderful the food tastes delightful the service is fantastic and the tables are large to fit abunch of main dishe's with a starter and a snack.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank HotDaddyAlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

Cold mussels in the starter!!! (hoping for no repercussions) returned and replacement was steaming as they should be but sauce was at least warm and tasted nice, almost burnt burger, undercooked pizza, sea bass done to a crisp so was tough, accompaniying vegs and potato nice.
Slow service, new young staff poorly trained in correct way to clear a table.
Worst “chain” meal we’ve had in years.
Nice premises.
Sorry people but the others do it so much better.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank TripenjoyerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner went here for a meal, and can say we left very happy and full! Our meals were cooked to perfection and the staff were all lovely and friendly.
Would deffo recommend the peri peri chicken and the choccie fudge cake!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank elleshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Visited early on a Sunday evening whilst staying in Newmarket, to be honest having read some of the previous Trip Advisor reviews in advance was slightly nervous about the place. However, great welcome having not booked in advance. Opted for Rosemary and Garlic bread for starters, hot Pepperoni pizza for a main. Both starters and main course where delicious and fantastic value given the prices. Finished the meal with Eaton Mess and coffee, again awesome value. Service throughout the meal was spot on and still can’t believe the quality of food and service given the bill at the end of the evening.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Flying_Demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 
Newmarket, Suffolk
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to Wildwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing