We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Taunton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

I booked in on a Sunday. £130 room only. I expected a very nice hotel for this money. The opposite is the case I am afraid to say. There was no one at reception when I arrived so I patiently waited for 5 minutes for someone to come. I was not made to feel very welcome but was I was 'processed' quickly. The room was shabby and dusty. The toilet was broken. I paid £8 for internet access but my room had such a poor signal I had to keep going out of my room and sitting on the stairs to get a signal. Dinner was awful and over priced. I chose mussels to start but they were so small I could hardly find them. It came with a bread roll that had been microwaved, resembled a rubber ball and was unedible.The roast pork dinner was all reheated and horrible. My complaints were met with a shrug with no offer of compensation of any sort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davod113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for your comments, .

We apologise that no one was there to greet you on reception and that you felt that you were not welcomed, as i would hope that all of my team would make every effort to welcome guests to my hotel and i am sorry you did not feel this .
With regards to your dinner complaint this charge was taken off your bill and apologies were made on check out, and i have since discussed the way this was handled with my late duty manager from Sunday.

we would also like to clarify that the rate was not room only and did include breakfast, and that this was a discounted rate at a peak time of year in Newmarket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    151
    84
    76
    49
See reviews for
58
187
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The rooms themselves are not to bad and the location is quite good bring on the high street, although parking can be an issue.
My main annoyance was the food. My wife and I had a lunch, all that was offered was sandwiches or main meals, being a lunch time and having to be somewhere we opted for a sandwich each. What a disapoinent! Eventually the food came and the bread on my sandwich was well past it's best. The salad was limp, the portions were very small and all for nearly £6! I returned my sandwich and I didn't have an apology and when another came along it was almost as bad!
With all this in mind we didn't eat in the restaurant (very high prices) and ate in a vey nice local place down the road.
As a hotel it's ok for a night but the food and service is not up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for your comments, further to this i will be asking our Head chef to look at the Main Bar Menu offering at lunch time in order to offer more alternatives to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Having read some negative comments on here we were somewhat apprehensive about staying here. We were paying a much reduced rate through Sunday Newspaper tokens so didnt expect to get a very good room.
We were though very impressed with the room although it was up a few stairs and along corridors but passing exposed period timbers ( nice touch).
Dinner was superb and breakfast impressed. If we wanted we could find fault but they would be niggly items and very few. Would not though have liked to have paid £165 but certainly good value if you can get a room for £100 ish.
Everywhere was clean and staff very friendly. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was reasonably spacious with seating and flat screen TV.
Car park entrance may be tight if you have a very large car but I had no problems in my Lexus.
Will agree that WI-FI is very expensive.
Hotel could not be more central and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Luckily we paid a discount rate, because the advertised £165/night is astonishing. Absolutely astonishing! For that you could stay in numerous 5 star hotels around the world. If you did, you would likely find a warm welcome at reception (Our receptionist dished out wrong keys to wrong people, and once I had trekked back to sort it out, offered no apology. As it turns out the room really was a trek from the reception so round trip was 10 mins!), tasteful decor (rather than a clash of various chintz and otherwise shabby fittings), a clean room (most of it was fine, but the carpet had not been cleaned in a while) and so on. I would like to see a better breakfast - these days you expect to see an effort towards higher quality local produce (especially as there is a farmers market next to the hotel!) rather that the rather low quality sausages etc we actually had. I would expect wifi to be free (especially at the room price) and not to pay £8/day for it.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
We are sorry that you did not receive a warm welcome or any apology from reception, as i would like to think that all of my team would offer this as standard, so thank you for highlighting this issue and please be assured that we will be addressing this with our Reception team, I cannot tell which room you stayed in however we do have several different standards of room available and are sorry that you were not happy with yours, however i can assure you that every room carpet is hoovered as standard every time a room is made up.
With regards to our Breakfast we do offer a significant selection of both hot and cold breakfast items, and have been complimented on our new Breakfast offering since its introduction in August, however i will discuss your comments with my chef. and will pass your comments about our wifi charges on to our head office, as these are rates are not set at a hotel level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Hi All

I am shocked to see all the bad reviews regarding this Hotel. I do not have any negative feedback for this hotel.

We Stayed for the last week end of racing in August.

We had a double room booked direct through the hotel website. The room was great and just what we needed. Large room overlooking the fore court at the back of the hotel. Lovely comfortable bed, Very clean and good size. The bathroom on suite was very clean and a good size. Frre coffee making facilities, Hairdryer and ironing board.

Free carpark included with the Hotel.

Breakfast was great. We ate on the Saturday morning before we went to the races. Full English, toast, Tea or Coffee, Cereal, Fruit, Fruit Juice included. Couldnt fault breakfast and plenty to keep you going for most of the day.

We didnt eat in the Hotel in the evening but we have done so in the past. very nice food but limited menu.

Location of the Hotel is great right near the end of the High Street. Loads of pubs and Resturants with in a very short walk.

Free shuttle bus to races down near hughes Electrical or you can take a taxi for around £8. each way.

No complaints what so ever and this is our 4th visit to the Hotel and hopefully many more.

Please ignore previous bad reports about this hotel and i have never found a problem eith this hotel. great place and will definately stay again.

Cheers all and ask me any questions if you wish.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here in June and couldn't have been more dissapointed. The tiny room I had was so bad it is not easy to say what part was worst. The sink bowl was melted (?) and the counter broken. The shower dial has fallen off so you cant tell how to work it. The towels were thread bare and dirty. The carpet and bed spread were stained.
The food was very average and the breakfast very poor. I complained and was told the room would be re-cleaned, no offer of a move. Just to finish off an appalling stay the amenities were also off for a day. Hope the hotel improves on reading this and that I save a trip for another unsuspecting traveller until they do.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weary_Traveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for your comments, please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us, i will be addressing your concerns with our laundry supplier, and would like to inform you that we do run a rolling program of refurbishment and as such are currently looking at our bathrooms in order to assess where replacement of items is necessary.
We have also since your stay changed our breakfast standard and have a new team in the kitchen.
With regards to amenities being off - we do from time to time experience mechanical breakdowns that affect the services we offer and this is beyond our control, however we do always try to rectify the issues as quickly as possible where there has been a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle, Solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Booked this hotel as we were visiting Newmarket races. Paid £165 for a suite inc breakfast. The Rutaland Arms is on Newmarket High St with a small free car park round the back of the hotel. Suite 111 was a good size, it had a large four poster style bed and seating area with views over the high st and a nice size bathroom. If your a light sleeper be warned that the bleeping from the pedestrian crossing would seriously annoy you!
The hotel itself has a rustic English charm about it.

The breakfast was excellent. When we arrived it was really busy but the staff soon found us a table. There was a very good choice of juices, cereals and fruit but the main thing was the speed of service considering it was busy. Within 10-15 mins our tea, toast and very tasty full english breakfast had all arrived with a smile.

If your going to the races the course provides a free shuttle sevice. If you turn left out of the hotel the pick up point is about 100yards down the High St outside Hughes electrical shop.

Another recommendation is the Fountain chinese restaurant at the opposite end of the High St to the clock. Very good food which tasted even better after a few winners paid for the bill :)

Overall a good hotel with friendly staff, right in the centre of the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
13.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing