We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff and Old world Charm at a Great price !”
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Old world Charm at a Great price !”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Super location being on the main High Street with parking included.

The staff were their greatest asset, being cheerful, helpful and polite. A warm and friendly atmosphere !

A good English breakfast was had on both mornings.

The bar was quiet, being January, but the prices were very reasonable.

Well worth a try. AA 3 star rated bur our opinion is it is at the top end of it's category !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southport76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Rutland Arms.

We pride ourselves on been friendly and try to welcome all of our guest, I have shared your kind comments with the team. We are pleased you enjoyed the food at the hotel

We hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Jeff Hodgson
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    157
    94
    78
    51
See reviews for
61
195
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dungog
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we have stayed there twice now, on our visit for races etc. we loved it. our room was very comfortable and the bed was great. the staff were very helpfull, and when we had to check out at 4am they helped with no dramas at all. we love the historic atmosphere of the place .and its so central.

Room Tip: up high and overlooking the courtyard, at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thankyou for your recent post on Trip advisor, I have passed on your kind comments to the team here at the Rutland Arms Hotel.

We sincerley hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Jeff Hodgson
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here in December when attending a function at the racecourse. The hotel is is fine - it's a typical British hotel with plenty of character but in need of refurbishment. The bedroom was fine, the bathroom was probably last updated in the 80s.

There is nothing particularly good or particularly bad about this hotel, it's the equivalent of a Welcome Break service station! A default option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments posted on trip advisor regarding the hotel. With regards to the quality of our bedrooms we have started to upgrade some of the rooms and decorating has already begun.

I sincerley hope we may have the oppurtunity of welcoming you back to the Rutland Arms Hotel

Kind Regards

Jeff Hodgson
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed over Christmas with 4 friends and had an a very good festive break. This was mainly due to staff who were excellent in every sense i.e. efficient, pleasant, helpful, etc.. The food was also excellent with a good choice for each meal.
Thanks to Steph and all her staff for a lovely break.
Just one adverse comment. They need to pay attention to various items for maintenance e.g. loose roof tiles, paintwork. Hopefully, the new owners will take this in hand.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so guests with mobility problems should certainly avoid rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 305Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that the team here at the rutland had made your stay a plesent one. We do try to make every stay as good as possible for our guests and the staff we have play a vital role in this.
We try to offer our guests as much choice as possible with our menus. I am pleased to hear that you liked the menu and the choice we offered.
As you have mentioned, we have been taken over by new owners, Bespoke hotels. As with many hotels, there is an ongoing maintenence programme to keep the hotel up to a good standard. We have recently (beginning of january) had some major works done to our guttering and roof to improve the comfort of our guests.
Once again thank you for your review and we would look forward to welcoming you back to The Rutland Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had stayed at the local Premier Inn the previous week, but had to return to Newmarket for urgent family business. On the day, the best deal we thought we could get was via Expedia for £65 per night B & B. This was better than the Premier Inn, when you allow for the cost of breakfast and the hassle of parking at the latter.

In fact, if we'd phoned the hotel direct, we would have been offered their January sale price of just £20.13 per person per night- a total of £40.26 (including full breakfast). We have to come back again next week- so guess where we'll stay that time!

The hotel really is full of character, with rickety floors and long corridors. It is obviously old and would be spoilt by large-scale modernisation. However, it could do with a facelift!

We asked for a quiet room and were placed in the annexe, which crosses the back road on an internal bridge. Quite a long walk if you've got lots of suitcases, but nice and quiet.

The room was spacious and comfortable, although the bed was a bit hard for us. We had a great night's sleep though. On the first morning there was no hot water, but when we reported it the receptionist apologised that the boiler had somehow switched itself off and it would take about 15 minutes to get hot. They offered an alternative room for a shower, but in fact the water really was hot in 15 minutes!

Breakfast was superb! Plenty of cereals to choose from, with a choice of porridge types- you can define what proportion of milk you want and it you want it thick, thin or middling. Dont recall that level of options anywhere else!

The "Full English" is just that and is fresh cooked to order. We really enjoyed that!

So before you book at the Premier Inn, check if there is a better offer here- at least you get a proper car park!

Room Tip: Check for current deals and ask for a quiet room away from the High Street, which is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
So lovely to read your review, we have actually just recently reclassified some of our rooms as 'Character' rooms following guest feeback, and as always we do pride ourselves on our breakfast offering selection.
look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Three night christmas break looked good value for money and certainly did not disappoint. The staff could not do enough for us and were always very pleasant and courteous. All the food was fantastic with an excellent choice at every meal and every effort had been put in to make the Christmas day lunch the best ever. Thanks to Steph and her staff especially Chris who made the break so special and to Sandie (reception) who oversaw all the arrangements. Just one small niggle.........it would be lovely if the sausages at breakfast were Newmarket sausages!
Thank you for a lovely break, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the courtyard, they are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripjulie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night Christmas package with us, it was one of the most popular years for the package that we have seen!
All of my team tried their hardest to make your stay with us special, from the little gift from Father Christmas, to Chris with the Quiz and Richard with the Bingo, and all credit to Sandie she did an amazing job of coordinating everything for me.
We are hoping that having recently changed hands we will now have the freedom to buy Newmarket Sausages and be able to offer this local product to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed here before. Each time I have had a problem and each time the (excellent) staff have assured me that improvements were planned. I returned this year and it was the worst ever - so never again. A cupboard of a room priced at £100 a night was £70 too much. They even managed to run out of porridge - and we were the first in for breakfast! The only saving grace was the member of staff who did at least conjure up some (readybrek?) alternative - at least an effort - which is more than can be said for most of this year's staff's attitude - that is if you could ever find a member of staff.
It's such a shame. First impressions are of a traditional English coaching house - the rooms I have experienced tell another story.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsbarbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to standard, we do have higher rates During Tattersalls Horse Sales and on Newmarket Race Dates, and from the rates that you have paid it would appear that this is when you stayed with us. we are on these peak dates one of the more affordable hotels in Newmarket and being ideally located on Newmarket High Street you are unfortuantely paying for our location. We do update our rooms and have had improvements over the last few years without increasing our rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.6 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing