We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please buy some new curtains!!!”
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Rutland Arms is situated right in the centre of Newmarket and is very reasonable so you cannot fault it on this front. Also the reception staff are very welcoming and professional. However the rooms are not up to standard. We stayed in 145 which is a long way from reception and has a bathroom that would be better placed as a pub toilet. The curtains are not black out infact i think they might even increase the sunlight into the room!! Thus we were up with hangovers at 6:30am. The breakfast was average and they need to change the beans!! Again though the staff are very friendly and attentive.

Its a tough one to review as it is great value at £60 and perfectly situated but all the small things you pay for are not up to standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevIn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments, I am glad to hear that my staff were friendly and attentive, and I can assure you that we will be addressing the issue of the curtains in the room you stayed in; all our rooms are individually decorated and as such it is always helpful to know which room a guest is talking about as it allows us to fix a problem or identify areas for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 494 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I booked the restaurant on Saturday evening 28 January 2012 and were both impressed by the attentive waiting staff ,Tom in particular, and by the quality of the food. We liked the limited menu which combined good quality meat and fresh produce. We both had 3 courses and wine and found the meals to be excellent value for money. Our compliments to the Chef for the rump steak and the duck pancakes which were delicious (not fried!). We will definately be going along again.
J and N P

Room Tip: We did not book a room as we live locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good position for central Newmarket. Very old building set around old coaching stables. Restaurant food was excellent; well presented and cooked; and tasted good. The bedrooms were of good size and the beds very comfortable. Very quiet at nightime, so every-one slept well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollipop2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at the Rutland Arms Hotel with friends. We took up a January offer of Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, which was very reasonable - so we didn't expect too much, but we were so nicely surprised. The rooms were clean comfortable and spacious (albeit a little tired), but full of character, and had everything we needed. The breakfast was fine, and the dinner really good. A fairly limited menu, but as we were only staying two nights we all had enough to choose from. Finally the staff were all friendly and welcoming, and helped to make our stay a really good one. Thanks Rutland Arms Hotel we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard rather than the main road would obviously be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeJayEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for one night on a Saturday. After walking into our extremely hot bedroom discovered that the temperature twist dial on the radiator didn't work so called reception. The very nice receptionist found another room for us but really, the dodgy radiator wasn't the worst part. The hotel is so tired it might as well be asleep. Paintwork is shabby, furniture cheap, old fashioned and chipped. Both rooms felt rather depressing and both bathrooms were really off-putting: mouldy grout, stains in the loo, hairs everywhere (worst thing is seeing someone else's hairs floating up to greet u in the bath!!).

Next day we walked out to find all the replacement clean bedlinen piled on the well-used corridor floor outside each room. Lovely.

It was far too expensive for what they offer. They are missing a trick in one of the most famous racing towns in Britain and could learn alot from Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VABW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed for a night at the end of the racing season. The location is excellent and the hotel is full of charatcer. Service is very good - friendly and informal - although odd that a hotel could not find us a needle and cotton to sew on a button!
The food was excellent although the restaurant lacked atmpsohere - just three tables of diners on a Friday evening. The room was as expected - clean and tidy but a bit dated.
Overall though a good value stay - Just over £100 including dinner and drinks!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room so not overlooking the High Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stc8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed for one night 5th November to visit with family. This was on par with price for Premier Inn but inc a breakfast so better value. All staff were very friendly, room was as expected, breakfast also nice. The hotel is a little tired and I think with 10% extra housekeeping & food effort you would see a 30% return. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#6 of 8 in Newmarket
42 reviews
1 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
19.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing