We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed comments”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rutland Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed comments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Car park a few yards from Hotel with ample parking. Our room was a disappointment being gloomy with an old badly stained marble washbasin. On mentioning this, the room was inspected and we moved into the next-door room that was much pleasanter. During three night stay shower gel and shampoo were not topped up. Found mattress firm, but this may suit others. Staff pleasant and helpful, Character georgian hotel in central location

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bymiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    153
    85
    76
    50
See reviews for
59
190
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We enjoyed a two-night break at The Rutland Arms for our wedding anniversary earlier this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is in a briliant location right in the centre of Newmarket and we were amazed at the huge size of our room, with a lovely canopied bed.
Everything was of a high standard, including the restaurant where we enjoyed two full-English breakfasts and a superb evening meal on our second night - wonderful food and service.
However, while you are handily located for the high street pubs, you will also 'enjoy' the sights and sounds as the town's youngsters spill out on to the street at closing time!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

What a surprise! We just returned from a 'Birthday treat' break at the Rutland Arms and although I did not know what to expect, as we had never been to Newmarket before, I had a lovely surprise. The delightful receptionist Sam greeted us with a lovely smile and checked us in very efficiently (Sam is certainly a credit to the hotel so helpful and friendly). When we opened the door of our room I was chuffed !!!! It was a beautiful 4 poster, thankyou Sam . The whole team at the Rutland were so accommodating and friendly we had a total relax. We also enjoyed a meal in the restaurant during our stay which we would certainly recommend the food being very good and service excellent. We shall certainly be returning, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentkiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed here for one night and had a lovely time. Booked in at reception straight away. As we were on the 3rd floor we had lots of corridors and stairs to climb but it was ok as long as you are fairly fit. Room was nice with bath/shower, trouser press, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and tea making facilities and very good heating. We had half board and booked with booking.com and got a brilliant deal. We paid £75.00 for both of us in a double room with full english breakfast and brilliant evening meal that would have cost that amount on its own in an al a carte restaurant. Other than the fact that the hotel is quite old so obviously not a modern hotel we couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icmeler4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for Christmas 2010 so we could be near my elderly mother, my sister and her family. As Newmarket is my home town and the Rutland Arms was a well-known High Street landmark when I was a kid, I was a bit scared it would be old, run-down and rather noisy. However, it was one of the few establishments open at Christmas and offered us the best deal, so we decided to give it a try. It turned out that my fears were really wide of the mark!

On arrival, the receptionist couldn't do more to be friendly and welcoming, making sure we were happy with our room and sorting out the radiator controls which I couldn't fathom. In fact, every one of the staff were really friendly and helpful- like the night porter who kept the main gates open so I could get something out of my car when he was closing them- saving me a longish detour via the front door.

Yes, the hotel has been there a long time and it has lots of character as a result- to say nothing of its links with Charles 2nd and Nell Gwynne, whose cottage is next door (we never did find the tunnel that is alleged to run between them)! It has been modernised, but you could tell this was a little while ago and it could probably do with a freshen-up, but our room was spacious, cosy and comfortable. It was at the back of the building and it was a bit of a pilgrimage to get there, but you see quaint pictures, beams and corridors on the way there. The room was very quiet and came with a bathroom, complete with bath & shower fitting. The water was always hot, with fresh towels every day (even though we didn't ask for them). They supplied the usual tea & coffee facilities (extra supplies readily available at Reception) and it even had a full Freeview menu on the flat-screen TV.

Breakfast was served in the bar on Christmas Day & Boxing Day and in the restaurant on Monday. It consisted of a fair range of cereals, fruit and juices, followed by a full breakfast cooked to order, (including kippers for those that like them) and fresh toast and drinks. Couldn't really fault it.

If you're lucky you may get one of the few car parking spaces on the road at the front, but you're more likely to need the hotel car park, which is across Palace Street at the back and is operated by tokens from the reception. Worked fine for us.

All told, a very enjoyable experience. Hope we can go there again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

The Rutland Arms is a former coach inn dating back to 1651. The layout is quirky which is part of its charm. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and a fairly good size. The bathroom was perfectly adequate and again very clean. The bar area is has plenty of tables and cosy corners to relax over a drink or snack and the breakfast /dining/restaurant area was lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the service quick and efficient. The hotel is located in a good area close to shops and local amenities yet set back off the main street through a courtyard area. It has lots of nice old features like, stained glass windows, beams etc, mixed with the more modern. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, very quirky with a great layout - I had to go up, then down then up again to get to my room on the first floor!!! Great fun after a few drinks I can tell you! The Reception staff were brilliant, helping with any queries at all and the breakfast was very nice as well, although the staff were a bit slow they made up for it with friendliness and helpfulness and a willingness to accommodate. I highly recommend this place if you're staying in Newmarket as a good base from which to discover the locality and wander around. Generally priced but the staff make it feel like you should be paying more - they even posted me the book I left behind in my room! Can't fault them!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittenKat1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.2 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
1.6 mi away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing