We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well exceeding expectations”
Review of Kings Newmarket

Kings Newmarket
Ranked #16 of 90 Restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $8 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kings Newmarket, a fast paced, vibrant Kitchen & Bar in the centre of Newmarket, specialising in Cocktails and Traditional English Food. Kings has a unique courtyard garden for Alfresco Dining and Drinking. Kings has 13 ensuite letting rooms, all fitted with kitchenette's, perfect for long or short stays.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Well exceeding expectations”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited with a Groupon Voucher. The restaurant is relatively but not excessively expensive and the portions are relatively small. Those are the only reservations. Everything else was superb. We came into contact with a large number of staff, all of which, without exception, were really pleasant and enhanced our enjoyment of the evening. The food was beautifully presented and superbly cooked. The bread pieces with oil and balsamic before the starters were a nice touch. The live music was a treat - just the right volume and really adding immensely to the overall ambience. The purpose of a Groupon voucher is to encourage guests who might not otherwise do so, to visit and, hopefully, enjoy themselves so much that they wish to return. Kings achieved this on both counts with us. A classy venue which was a sheer delight in every respect. We shall certainly return shortly. (Just a pity that the servings are not just a little more satisfying!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    85
    49
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
“First visit will go again.”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a great place , friendly people great welcome. Super food. What more could you want. Going to recommend to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kashman116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was 6 months ago”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found this restaurant a year ago and its performance as varied. It improved with a new maître d last year and it was good value and very high service. He has recently departed and although the service is still very good and the staff and new maître d enthusiastic, we did not enjoy the meal as much as before. The starter was nearly £9 for 5 spicy small prawns and the main meal portion was smaller than last year for more money. We came home hungry which has never happened before and spent less than an hour having our meal as it just was not enjoyable. Sad but true. Now have to go around our friends unrecommending it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Seasidejemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Kings after attending a race meeting last week. I had left it a bit late in booking (5 days before) so didn't have any high expectation.
We booked the family room which was all that was left. The customer service was very good, very friendly and helpful. Room was large, with a continental breakfast left for us which was very generous portion size. Great location and outstanding value. I'm sure there is a lot of competition in the town for business but we thought that they could charge more for the room and it still be good value.
We would definately book again when visiting Newmarket.
We didn't eat at the restaurant but did have a drink in the lounge which was had a nice relaxing atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 811amanda_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“off the high street but make sure you don't miss it.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We popped in on the off chance at 4pm. We were the only people in there, they had stopped serving food but still made us a sandwich. The service is very good, the decor is smart, it really is a lovely place, just as long as the rabble stick to the high street and steer clear of Kings. I imagine it to be extremely busy when the race meetings are on but this is the best place in Newmarket high street.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cockneysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Newmarket also viewed

Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to Kings Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing