We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children not welcome...........”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #24 of 90 Restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: This Wetherspoon pub is the former Golden Lion, a long-standing fixture on High Street. The sign of The Golden Lion is thought to have originated with King Henry I. Known as the Lion of Justice, Henry started a royal menagerie at Woodstock, which included lions - reputedly the first to be seen in England.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Children not welcome...........”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I called in with my wife and two daughters today (3 and a half and 10 months). We were on our way home from a holiday in norfolk. Unfortunately due to an accident we had to divert around the original pub we were going to call into. Due to this we were running very late for lunch and we were all very hungary.

We decided to pop into the weatherspoons because we generally know what we are going to get. The pub was not overly busy but we found a nice table to sit at. Unfortunately this was when one of the managers/supervisors informed me that as we were a family that it was pub policy to direct us to use the "family area" at the back of the pub.

Slightly annoyed at this as we made our way to the back of the pub to the hot, crowded, dirty "family area". Dispite the fact we were all hungary and thirsty I decided to make the decision to leave weatherspoons and go somewhere else. Luckily we happened upon The Rhubarb restaurant around the corner which was very excellent indeed.

Clearly the pub management don't want to risk the possibility of a crying/excited child ruining the atmosphere for a few of the the old blokes sitting around watching the horse racing on the tele. For the reocordmy kids eat out with us regularly and are very well behaved indeed and wouldn't have caused any trouble at all.

So thanks weatherspoons for making us feel like secondclass citizens for having children and expecting to be able to eat with them at 2pm on a friday afternoon. We won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyposhfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Lion N, General Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Our pub runs on very family friendly based rules in line with our license. We have distinct and separated areas for families for a few reasons one of which is to keep families away from groups of drinkers who come in just to drink, ESPECIALLY on Friday afternoons when a lot of people end the week early and go for a drink. The drinkers and family groups we cater for do not infringe on each other when using the pub by having these area's. Most the families that visit the pub DON'T want to sit with the racing community or Friday drinkers as it is not the best area of the pub to sit with a family, especially for a young family that you describe you came in with. We cater for many types of people and groups as i said, some like to come in with thier families, some come in for a quiet drink and some yes are the racing community that you can not escape in Newmarket as it is a racing town. This may be a surprise to you but not everybody wants to be surrounded by children when they go to the pub for a drink in the same way people don't want to be surrounded by drinkers when they take their family for lunch. I think you will find that we are the most family friendly PUB in the town. Yes Rhubarb is very nice and do good food but they are a restaurant NOT a pub. No other pub in the town is as accommodating as we are in regards to families and we have to have certain rules in place to run as a responsible drinks retailer and adhere to strict licensing regulations in the UK these days. The staff and management always act in a professional way in explaining the family rules and they are clearly stated on the front and back doors as well as in the pub as to where and why we ask families to sit in certain areas and its always in there best interests.
The slur on the cleanliness standard on this area is not justified at all and this area of the pub is very tidy and well kept and I am sorry to see that because you have taken offence to a family area be set aside for families you have intentionally used this review to attack the standards of the pub. As for it being too hot, this area has 3 double doors at the rear leading to the garden so it being too hot has never been an issue in the 3 years we have run the pub quite the opposite. People who read this review and visit the pub on a regular basis with there families will not agree with the description and review you have given us and its sad that you have had to tried to mislead people because of reasons you have misunderstood.

If you do decide to visit Newmarket again then I would be happy to explain the family guide within the pub to you. If you would like to speak to us about the issue you felt was there regarding the cleanliness and standards then please raise them with me as well.

Regards

David Ormrod
Pub Manager
The Golden Lion
Newmarket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    81
    25
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good all round experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We usually make for a Wetherspoons as we know the standard will be good. Hubby loves the beer selection s and the food is good standard and prices are good. Staff are usually very friendly we have had a very good experience. Wetherspoons always seem to cultivate a warm and homely and social atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank btwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
As a company we do strive for consistency in our pubs and glad you seek us out wherever you visit in the country.Thank you for leaving us nice feedback and we hope you continue to recieve good service from other Wetherspoons pubs as you did from us

Abi and David
Pub managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor experiance”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff behind the bar was friendly and helpful when ordering my food. The guy not sure if it was the deputy manager just dumped my food on the table not even spoke one word to me. The pub was also filled with lots of drunken people for a Tuesday night and the language was not appropriate for anyone who had children in there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezzauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Lion N, General Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Sorry to hear your experience was not what you expected.

We have a very high level of trade on a Tuesday night due to it being our STEAK NIGHT but this usually does not consist of "drunks", mostly its dinners and every single week we do more in terms of sales on food than drink so I find it unusual that you found more drinkers than dinners in the pub.

We do have people from the racing community who use the pub that come in for a drink but they are not sat in he same area of the pub as the families and dinners.

We specifically have (as other reviews have said) separate areas for dinners drinkers and an area designed for family use so that we cater for a wide range of people and social groups.
This does sometimes not suit everybody and it is very hard to get the mixture right for 100% of people 100% of the time but we always do ensure bad language is managed and do warm people about anti social behaviour not being tolerated in the pub

Thank you for your review

David and Abi
Pub Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice little pub”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Everything was nice as expected, staff was friendly and the tables clean. Only problem: they warmed the potatoes and veggies pipping hot, while the roast beef was lukewarm at best.

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback we really appreciate it as it helps us to improve our service and quality of food and drinks that we provide. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion your meal was not up to scratch. We work hard to ensure our food is of a good standard but unfortunately sometimes we get wrong. We hope that has not put you off choosing to use this pub in the future. We are always happy to replace any meal that is not up to your expected standard.


David and Abi
Pub managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Been to 'spoons' a few times LoVE the food every time I've been up to bar staff have been very kind apart from when A guy served me and was very rude! But other than that it's a great place

Helpful?
Thank Fayth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback we really appreciate it as it helps to improve the service we provide. We train our staff to deliver high standards of customer service at all times and take it very seriously when we hear a member of staff has been rude to a customer. Hopefully you will not experience this again but if you do then please do not hesitate to speak to a manager. We hope you continue to visit the pub in the future.

David and Abi
Pub managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing