We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Lovely welcoming atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George & Dragon

The George & Dragon
Ranked #23 of 87 Restaurants in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Recently re-opened under new ownership. Renovated to a high standard. Family friendly village pub located just outside of Newmarket. Great selection of food and drink, open 7 days a week.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lovely welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my Husband brought our two young children here for a light lunch at the weekend, as soon as we walked in we felt a warm welcoming atmosphere. We ordered a couple of sandwiches for our girls and we had Ciabatta sandwich. The food was excellent and we also couldn't resist the spicy hot wings!! Will have them again! Overall a lovely place, clean, modern, fresh and will definitely be returning, thank you!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shaunvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“n ot fancy but down to earth and nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'm fussy about chips but these tasted just right. The fishcakes were nice, not fishy. The baguette was fresh with lots of tasty cheese and lots of ham.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
“Friendly welcome and good PUB grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Took our dogs along and were greeted in the car park to see them and made to feel very welcome. Had a wander down the garden and sat outside for our meal :0)
The food was exactly what I wanted, standard pub grub at good prices. Nice golden chips and lasagne.
No broken tap (as mentioned by previous poster - I have o.c.d. with hand washing so would have noticed! lol)
Ok, so maybe the outside furniture isn't the most up to date and all matching, but it didn't taint the food or service.
Will definitely go back there again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it as somewhere to stop off if near to Newmarket for pub grub at reasonable prices, especially given how hard times are nowadays for this industry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gem858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Dog Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I met a friend for lunch here in August. As we are not local we checked in advance the pub was dog friendly which it was. In fact the staff were extremely accommodating, they brought out dog biscuits and allowed the dogs to stretch their legs in the massive garden!

The food was good, typical pub grub, properly cooked and very generous portions!

Service was good and all staff very friendly and welcoming :)

The only negative point was some of the outside furniture could do with replacing, as some benches (mainly by the stream) were a tad worn!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had the sunday carvery today and it was lovely, fresh vegetables and a very friendly welcome, a traditional country pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George & Dragon also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 
Kennett, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing