We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals yet”
Review of The Kentford

The Kentford
Ranked #29 of 94 Restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $13 - $32
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Recently dined here and ordered the squid ink risotto and steak. Have to say the risotto was amazing and the croquettes with the steak were gorgeous! Lovely staff and excellent food made for a great evening. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a warm pub night out but with good food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bbirds555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, General Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening at the Kentford,

We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Regards,

The Kentford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 228 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

I visited the Kentford this week with a party of 16 and we had pre-ordered our food as requested. We arrived around 8.30, everyone's food came at different times but about 5 us did not get served until a quarter to ten! No apologies at all and as some of us were sitting on bench seats it was not a comfortable wait. I had ordered the Squid Ink Risotto "Deep and earthy squid ink risotto, whole tiger prawns, lemon zest & basil"; it was a large tasteless bowl of risotto with no lemon zest or basil and 3 prawns, garnished with 3 prawn heads stuck into the rice. My neighbours had long since finished their meals by the time it arrived. Another member of the group still waiting was served battered fish and chips instead of pan roasted cod. The staff offered to take it away and cook another cod but as it was so late she declined. The desserts then arrived before the waiters had removed the dirty dishes from the main courses. Truly awful and not to be repeated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank KSDullingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hello,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your Risotto on your visit as this has proved to be a popular addition to our menu.

On the evening your party all arrived by the allocated time of the booking at 20.45, and drinks orders where taken and run to your table.

Half of your party had ordered starters on the evening which arrived at around the time of 21.00 and of course this slowed down the speed of mains reaching your table, also at this point we still had other diners in the restaurant waiting for main courses that had arrived before your party.

Despite pre ordering for a table of 16 food will be served at slightly staggered intervals to ensure food reaches the table at its best, all dishes are made fresh to order and therefore takes longer to cook and serve as it is not cooked in advance and reheated. I would also like to point out the fact your dish was one of the last to arrive at the table which was of course unfortunate for yourself as you did not have a starter.

Unfortunately on the pre order sheet that was given to us cod and chips was placed on the order form, this is a traditional Battered fish and chips dish that is on our menu and we didn't realise that what a member of your party actually wanted was a different dish on the menu which was the pan roasted cod loin served with sautéed bacon, onion and savoy cabbage but with chips instead of the sautéed bacon, onion and savoy cabbage. You rightly pointed out that we offered to change this for you but this was declined.

Your party was sat on a table of 10 and 6. Desserts where being taken to the table of 6 before the separate table of 10 you was sat on was cleared. At this point we then cleared your table of 10 and ran out the remaining desserts.

On departure at 22.15 an hour and a half after your arrival quite a lot of members from your party seemed happy with their experience when coming up to pay.

If you wish to talk to me in more depth about your evening please feel free to contact me at your own convenience,

Thank you again for taking your time to review the Kentford.

Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked The Kentford on the recommendation of a (male, single) friend, after I said that just because I was a new mother, I didn't want to sacrifice the type of adult dining experience I had grown accustomed to!

The Kentford didn't disappoint! It has recently been refurbished in a contemporary yet individual style. The food was beautifully presented and of very good quality. The Rioja was excellent. The prices on the day reflected the special menu and occasion. However, looking at the standard menu, there are a range of menu choices to suit all budgets and tastes.

We were given a table in the main restaurant ante-room which was perfect to accommodate our 15 week old son's pram. For parents with older children, there were pictures and crayons to keep them amused. A number of highchairs were available (also contemporary!) There are good baby changing facilities in the toilets to the rear of the building.

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and until the moment we left - from every member of staff. We noted that other customers were treated in the same manner. The manager was very professional and ran a tight ship. The team in place are a credit to the owner, Emma, and her family.

Externally, there is a good sized car park. The garden area suits a range of purposes and is in the process of being revamped.

In conclusion, we would like to thank everyone at The Kentford for a lovely meal on our first special family occasion. (Sorry it has taken us so long to get around to writing this!) We will be back soon!

Alison, Simon & Edward

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AccurateAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, General Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Alison,

Thank-you so much for your kind review,

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit to The Kentford,

We all look forward to hosting you again shortly,

Kind Regards,

The Kentford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have been there a few times and cannot fault the meals or the service given. Highly recommended for anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, General Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Ray,

Thank-you very much for taking your time to review The Kentford,

We are all pleased that you have enjoyed your experiences with us and look forward to seeing you again shortly,

Kind Regards,

The Kentford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had a fantastic evening on wednesday.. took my wife and daughter for a meal
Atmosphere was great, Staff were welcoming and very helpful food was excellent
Great value for money on the steak nights..Thoroughly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wanceywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, General Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank-you for taking your time to review the Kentford,

Pleased to hear your family enjoyed the evening and found us to be great value for money.

The whole team looks forward to seeing you all again soon,

Kind Regards,

The Kentford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentford also viewed

Kennett, Cambridgeshire
 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Kentford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing