We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!”
Review of The Kentford

The Kentford
Ranked #31 of 94 Restaurants in Newmarket
Price range: $13 - $32
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Haven't been here in a while, glad we chose it. The refurb looks lovely and has a lovely feel about it. The food was lovely chicken was the nicest tasting chicken I've had in a while. A very enjoyable evening, staff were lovely. Looking forward to going back.

Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We look forward to hosting you again,

Regards,

The Kentford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

My friend and I booked a table in mid December and had a great evening. The newly refurbished pub has an excellent feel and ambiance, the dining room being very warm and inviting with a wonderful fireplace and very cool decor.
Food was superb, a lovely choice on the menu and good selection of wines.
Emma, the landlady served us, which was a pleasure.
Highly recommended for lunch or supper! I look forward to going again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flowerlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

The Kentford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My friend and I dined at the refurbished Kentford and just turned up hoping we could get a table. We were in luck. We had a fantastic night with just the right mix of attentive service, gorgeous food and a wonderful festive atmosphere and all at a very reasonable price. This really is a great venue and we will definitely be going back with our partners and family. Nothing was too much trouble and the Kentford deserve to make a great success of their business if they continue in this vein. Well done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisaeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.

Kind regards,

The Kentford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from a meal at the newly refurbished Kentford , Very good food ,excellent service and ambiance , so good to see a pub doing what it needs to in these times .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chambers139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for complimentary review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Kind regards,

The Kentford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have recently been in London from Hong Kong on holidays and went to Suffolk for the weekend and stayed over in Newmarket. We were recommended to visit The Kentford as it has been recently refurbished and heard that the menu was filled with great pub classics and other special delights and we was NOT DISAPPOINTED!! WOW what a fantastic pub - the food was better than we expected and better than the local pubs we tried in London!

Service was extremely attentive and staff couldn't do enough to make our meal more pleasurable.

We would love The Kentford in Hong Kong!! We'll be back again on our next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
79Foodie, Manager at The Kentford, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello,

Thanks for the kind review, if we decide to expand we will most certainly consider Hong Kong now.

But until then we look forward to seeing you next time in Suffolk.

Kind regards,

The Kentford team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentford also viewed

Newmarket, Suffolk
Freckenham, Newmarket
 
Cowlinge, Newmarket
 

Been to The Kentford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing