We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing and expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain

The Fountain
Ranked #30 of 87 Restaurants in Newmarket
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Visited the Fountain earlier this week with my wife and two children, having read many of the positive reviews, and we were all very disappointed.

The decor and ambience is tired, and that is being kind! The carpet felt sticky underfoot and generally the place made you want to go home and take a shower.

Food was average, but not as good as I had expected and I would describe it as better than many take aways, but worse than many chinese food restaurants. Those who said it was the best chinese outside of London are way off the mark and need to try some decent chinese food. However, perhaps that is because there seem to be few decent chinese restauants in the Newmarket area.

The portions were surprisingly small for the money and overall it was certainly expensive for the quality and quantity of food, not to mention the ambiance.

I can't say that we will be rushing back and I would be prepared to travel a little further to get a better meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    5
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Little Glemham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Fountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

i have eaten here many times, it is the best chinese resturant ever! i know the man who owns it, he's very friendly and so are the staff. There are pictures inside of Prince Harry visiting so it much be good! I also had a birthday meal here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BannanHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have eaten here on several occasions, I cant fault it never had a bad meal and the guy who owns it is always very friendly, other staff probably could do with learning more english but isnt that the same in most chinese restaurants lol - Always busy and you get a good variation on the menu

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went with friends to the 'Fountain' who are both local and regulars, they had praised the quality of food so both my partner and I were really looking forward to our feast. We were not disappointed. There was a combination of eating preferences all easily catered for. We had the most divine scallops with a light soy, ginger, chilli and coriander dipping sauce. Salt and pepper prawns, a great dish of chunky succulent 5 spiced pork and although I'm not keen on chicken a tasty tasty dish of 'paper wrapped chicken parcels'. Those were the highlights. The mains were equally as fabulous and would recommend the stir fried fillet of beef. The wine list was comprehensive although we had a preferred and recommend Sauvignon. The service was excellent the owner stopped to chat and all staff were professional and responsive to our requests. Really lovely evening in Newmarket, can wait for my next visit to 'The Fountain'!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Newmarket's only Chinese restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've dined here on several occasions over the years, generally when it's been someone else's choice, and each time I've failed to be impressed. The interior is fairly drab, outdated (by about 30 years) and in need of some TLC. The food is nothing remarkable and tastier dishes can be had at the appropriate takeaways in the locale. Service is a little hurried, stern and lacking in warmth. All of this has left me feeling a little cheated once the bill has been produced as it not cheap by any means.

There is definitely room for another restaurant of this type in Newmarket and, if of good quality, I'm sure that the competition would result in the Fountain having to sharpen up their act. In the meantime if you want a really good Chinese then head into Cambridge and take your pick or try one of the several excellent restaurants that there now are in Newmarket offering alternative types of cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain also viewed

Newmarket, Suffolk
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing