We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to spend Saturday afternoon!”
Review of Thai Street Cafe

Thai Street Cafe
Ranked #5 of 93 Restaurants in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place to spend Saturday afternoon!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place! Food is always top notch, the service is always fab - friendly and efficient and the decor is pretty smart too.

I dont know what else to put really - AMAZEBALLS!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    83
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Still good - lunchtime or evening”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is (still) a common lunchtime haunt. Now the good lady is working full time in Newmarket finding somewhere decent for lunch where you get in, get served, eat and get out in an hour is important. You can do all that here - but it only feels like a rush if you need it to be. The Bento box lunches are great for this (starter and main course delivered at the same time - and they are also available as takeaways).

It's also great in the evenings - whether with just a few of you or a larger party. The food is always fresh, tasty and hot when it gets to you.

The staff are genuinely friendly - and happy to explain any aspects of the menu that you want to understand better.

The place doesn't set out to be "part of Thailand in Newmarket" with fancy outfits and decor - it's clean and simple, and REALLY GOOD!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here last night after reading the other trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed...the food tasted fresh and authentic. We sat at the bar area, as the restaurant was full, but we enjoyed the atmosphere the place had. Nice friendly staff too!!! Definitely will be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've now visited Thai Street 6 times, 4 to dine in and twice as a takeaway. I've also eaten their food at the races. It's sublime and every time I go I try something different and have never been disappointed. Top marks, top food, good service and reasonably priced! In fact we are going there again tonight and I can't wait!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best thai food outside of Bangkok!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I was visiting family in the area and grew up here so know Newmarket very well. As soon as I saw this place I wanted to go in as it looked small and intimate and I love Thailand, especially the food having visited several times.

The menu is varied and all the classics are on there as so you won't be disappointed if you are needing a holiday reminder. My favourite is massaman curry and wow this did not disappoint! It was full of flavour,exactly how I remember it and good portion size...I wish I could go back there tomorrow! We had chicken satay skewers and duck spring rolls to start which were both delicious and my boyfriend really enjoyed his drunken chicken noodles which tasted just like he'd got them off a street vendor on khao San road. Fab!

Service was very quick and attentive, only thing I wasn't keen on was the bar area, a group of lads around the bar detracted a little from the cosy initmate restaurant feeling that otherwise would have been the perfect atmosphere. I would personally request a table in the front area rather than up the steps due to this.

Overall I will definitely be back to get my thai fix and this restaurant is a great addition to the area. Kob Khun Ka!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Parker1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Street Cafe also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to Thai Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing