We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diabolical”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #12 of 90 Restaurants in Newmarket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Bell Inn at Kennett is a Family run, Early 16th Century Haunted Coaching Inn Offering Fresh Home cooked English Food. Situated Just 4 Miles from The World Famous Horse Racing Town of Newmarket, it is an excellent place to visit before or after a Days Racing, or for people visiting The Sales at Tattersalls. In July 2016 a major refurbishment and the addition of 10 guest rooms all with en-suites was completed. For many years The Bell has been regarded as a Pub & Restaurant which has the best location in East Anglia, being a perfect meeting place because of its prominent position on the B1506 Between Bury St Edmunds & Newmarket. Cambridge, Ely, Ipswich, Norwich, & Bury St Edmunds are all easily accessible From here.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Diabolical”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Arrived lunchtime and food on tables looked wonderful, staff totally ignored us even though they had walked past several times , service very slow. Finally had order taken, waited almost an hour for our food, watched others being served BEFORE us, went to ask when our food was coming and was told within 5 minutes, almost 5 minutes exactly later a man came along and told us " oh its on its way but we have no more chicken !! WE HAD HEARD THEM TELL OTHER PEOPLE THAT THERE WAS NO MORE CHICKEN . .AT LEAST 20 MINUTES EARLIER !!
It was my sister in laws 60 birthday and it was completely messed up , because we walked out in complete DISGUST !! GET SORTED AND TELL THE MISERABLE STAFF TO SMILE !!! just to let you know that this comes from someone that NEVER complain s !! :(

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank numptys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    40
    13
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food was a let down”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Came here for Sunday lunch a couple of weeks ago. We arrived at one o'clock and were the only people eating. The service was average, however when the food came out we were appalled. Brought in beef covered in gravy, which didn't taste edible, with one giant microwaved potato and a Yorkshire. The vegetables were then sent out once we had nearly finished our meal. Although these were sent back for being cold. For the price we were expecting a lot more! We will never be back again and have advised friends and family to give it a miss!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Elizabeth2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Feel Good Thursday left me feeling great (albeit a little stuffed!)”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Thursdays at the Bell in Kennett are a must - free Main Course if you buy a drink? Yes please! Good choice of starters and puds - would definitely recommend for a near end-of-week treat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tattsfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bell Sunday lunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

1 1/2 hour wait for food. Kids up the walls . People served who came in after us. Not returning again. Special family occasion spoilt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great food, reasonable prices and I adore the horse theme throughout the place. The paintings on the tables are stunning. Lovely staff, but remember to book as it does get busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SU51STP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing